NEC Scholarship

NEC Scholarship

Today scholarships are not just about the stipend but have become prestigious awards that vouch for your academic strengths. A scholarship can also help you build a bright future reflecting on your qualifications as a student. Getting a scholarship is not an easy task, you need to have a consistent academic record along with meeting the eligibility criteria of the particular scholarship. There are several scholarships awarded on the basis of various factors like academic excellence, economic situation and sports. For the students of north-east India, The North Eastern Council Scholarship grants a stipend and books to those planning to study and pursue their higher studies in any part of the country. Let’s explore more about the key essentials of the NEC scholarship through this blog.


The North Eastern Council is a statutory advisory body consisting of the eight states of North East India, i.e. Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Meghalaya, Manipur, Mizoram, Nagaland, Tripura and Sikkim. The NEC comes under the Ministry of Home Affairs, Government of India. This body discusses the matters that are of common interest to these states. The NEC Scholarship is provided by the council to students who are permanent residents of any of these eight states and are planning to pursue a diploma, an undergraduate degree or a postgraduate degree in any part of the country in fields specified by the Council. The scholarship also includes a stipend and book grants which depend on the degree program you are planning to pursue.  

Eligibility Requirements for NEC Scholarship

The NEC Scholarship has strict eligibility criteria and is awarded to students who are planning to pursue their higher studies in a specific field. Here are the basic eligibility requirements that you need to fulfill to apply for this scholarship:

  • You must be a permanent resident of any of the eight states that belong to the NEC.
  • The institute should be recognized by the Ministry of Human Resource Development.
  • Selection of the candidates will be done on the basis of merit. 
  • The number of stipends allocated on a program depends on the fund allocation by the state government. 
  • M.Phil and PhD candidates will be awarded the stipend and book grants based on their topic of research which must be relevant to the region of North-East India. 
  • The various fields of study that a scholarship covers are based on the requirements in a particular industry hence it includes practical courses and fields that are more industry-oriented.

How to Apply for NEC Scholarship?

The application process for the scholarship is fairly easy. You need to register through the National Scholarship Portal, fill the form and upload the necessary documents. The documents required for the application are as follows:

  • Permanent Residence Certificate
  • Recommendation by the head of the institution 
  • Marksheets of qualifying exams
  • Category Certificate (if applicable)

Benefits of the Scholarship

Since the scholarship is provided for specific fields that have a shortage of adequate trained manpower in the region, the students can choose from wide-ranging careers included in the scholarship. Apart from the stipend, you will also get a credible source that can vouch for your academic record. This will not only help you in exploring better career opportunities but will increase your chances of getting a scholarship for higher education. 

The NEC scholarship aims to proffer you with an immense exposure into your chosen field and keeps you motivated to maintain a consistent academic record. These scholarships are important in the development of the state and add value to the human resources of a state, hence making you an asset for the state itself. The stipend acts as financial aid and helps you save up a significant amount of monetary funds. The aim is to look at the scholarship as an achievement that will help you build a bright future. 

This scholarship is awarded to students who are planning to study in India. If you are looking for scholarships that are awarded to students abroad, don’t forget to check out: Scholarships for Indian Students

Thus, NEC Scholarship is a great educational opportunity for students of North-east India and provides them with a boundless exposure in their field of interest. If you are in search of the right scholarship that can fund your dream of studying abroad, Leverage Edu counselors can help you explore different scholarship opportunities and find an ideal one to actualize your career aspirations.

1 comment
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like