CISA Certification

3 minute read
CISA Certification

Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA) refers to a certificate that is issued by the Information Systems Audit and Control Association (ISACA). This designation is recognised worldwide and defines the expertise an individual has in the field of Information Technology systems. But, one may wonder how good is CISA certification. Be it an entry-level candidate or an experienced professional in IT, CISA certifies an individuals’ expertise in auditing, information security, IT system acquisitions, etc. Here is a blog that will elucidate various parameters of obtaining this certification and how it will benefit you.  

What is CISA Certification? 

As discussed above, individuals with CISA certification are tasked with identifying, assessing, and managing problems in an organisations IT structure. To obtain this, a candidate not only needs to clear the exam but also fulfill the other requirements within the next 10 years of applying for the certification. Furthermore, one has to adhere to ISACA’s Code of professional ethics and also has to keep up with their education. Now, let’s go through the step-by-step requirements on how to get CISA certified in a comprehensive way. 

Step 1: Clear the CISA Certification Exam

Held every year in June, September, and December, the CISA certification exam is conducted in multilingual platforms like Chinese, Korean, French, Spanish and Japanese. It contains 150 multiple-choice questions that have to be completed in 4 hours. Further, the test is scored between 200-800 and the minimum marks requirement is 450. Candidate’s knowledge of the following topics are tested: 

  • The Process of Auditing Information Systems
  • Government and Management of IT
  • Information Systems Acquisition, Development, and Implementation
  • Maintenance and Service Management
  • Protection of Information Assets

Note: The exam fees is USD 575 [Rs 43,000] for Member states and USD 760 [Rs 57,000] for Non-member states. The costs can vary based on the conversion rates. 

Step 2: Apply and Fulfill the Work Experience Criteria

The next step in obtaining CISA certification is to apply within 5 years of clearing the exam. Further, one also needs to fulfill the work experience requisites set by ICASA. Even though the candidates must have 5 years of experience in IS auditing, control, etc, during the 10-year period, there are several substitutes that reduce the 5-year period to only 3. The waivers will only be applicable for those who: 

  • Have completed 60 to 120 university credit hours which are equivalent to an associate’s or bachelor’s degree. This can reduce the period by 1 or 2 years respectively.
  • A master’s or bachelor’s degree from a university that currently sponsors the ISACA certification programs. This can reduce the period by 1 year.
  • Have either Information System [1 year] or non-information system auditing experience [1 year]. This will reduce the period by 1 year. 
  • Have graduated with a postgraduation degree in Information Security/Technology from a university accredited by ISACA. This will reduce the period by 1 year.

Book your 30 minutes free career counselling session here! 

Apart from the aforementioned requirements, ISACA also sets forth a Code of Ethics to ensure that the candidates who passed the examination are and will remain professional in their field. All the candidates have to adhere to it along with Information Systems Auditing Standards.

Step 3: Continue Professional Education and Maintain Requirements

[optin-monster-shortcode id=”xf2mlnjiouddzrshykdb”]
  • Once CISA certification is issued, one also needs to continue with professional education. This is done to aid in skill development of the certified professionals and keep their knowledge in Auditing, Information Systems and Security intact and advanced. 
  • Furthermore, certified professionals have to undertake the training of 20 hours per year and a minimum of 120 hours in 3 years. 
  • An annual membership fee has to be paid and standards of auditing information systems have to be maintained!

Once all is said and done, the CISA certification holder will get global recognition, high-level knowldege, and skill required to advance in this field!  Just like CISA, there are scores of other certification programs like Certified Internal Auditor, CISSP, etc which can open the door to innumerable career opportunities. To get career guidance towards success, reach out to our experts at Leverage Edu who right from recommending a career path most suitable for you to completing admission related formalities, will guide you at every step!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *