What is the Full Form of RSA in Cricket?

2 minute read

In the world of Cricket, the full form of RSA is the Republic of South Africa. It is the official name of the country and is used in international cricket tournaments. The RSA team is one of the leading cricket teams in the world with immensely spectacular statistics. 

Fun Fact: RSA is one of the 12 countries in the world to be sanctioned to play test cricket!

When was RSA formed? 

On the 31st of May, 1961, the government which was at that time the Union of South Africa declared that from that day onwards, they would be officially known as the Republic of South Africa (RSA). The country is very multicultural and has a rich history. 

Why is South Africa called RSA in Cricket?

The South African Cricket Association adapted to RSA in Cricket because of the historical change that took place in 1961 when ‘Republic’ was added to South Africa. The RSA Cricket team is also called the Proteas which is their National Flower. 

IN 1991, The Republic of South Africa became a member of the International Cricket Council(ICC). The team has actively competed in all prime ICC tournaments around the world like the Cricket World Cup, ICC T20 World Cup, and the ICC Champions Trophy. In 1995, the RSA Cricket team won the Cricket World Cup, and in 1998 and 2009, the RSA Cricket team won the ICC Champions Trophy. 

Also Read – What is the full form of ICC?

What are the current statistics of RSA in Cricket?

Currently, the RSA team is ranked:

  • 5th in the ICC Test Rankings
  • 3rd in the ODI Rankings
  • 1st in the ICC T20 Rankings

Furthermore, the RSA Cricket team is known for its attacking and aggressive style of game and has given rise to AB de Villiers, Jacques Kallis, and Hashim Amla who are some of the best cricketers on the globe.

Why is it called RSA?

It is called the Republic of South Africa as it is the official name of the country. There are 9 provinces, namely, Free State, Eastern Cape, Gauteng, KwaZulu-Natal, Limpopo, Mpumalanga, North West, Northern Cape, and Western Cape. 

Also Read: How to Become a Cricketer?

APM Full FormHD Full FormCBT Full FormDRS Full Form
SMPS Full FormPHP Full FormIYKYK Full FormBPO Full Form
BMI Full FormTGIF Ful FormFPS Full FormSRS Full Form
PET Full FormORM Full FormREC Full FormIPL Full Form
CWC Full FormGIC Full FormIMRB Full FormIMMA Full Form

We hope this blog has helped you understand the full form of RSA in Cricket and everything related to it. If you want to know more, find the 300+ full forms list on our blog. In the world of short forms, you can rely on the Leverage edu page to know about more full forms like this! Connect with us study abroad experts to achieve your international dream today!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *



1 comment