What is the Full Form of IPL?

2 minute read
IPL Full Form

The full form of IPL is the Indian Premier League. The twenty-20 cricket league is being played by cricket players from around the world. In order to promote domestic cricket on international stages, the IPL was established in 2007. Since the IPL is held annually in India, BCCI established it in 2008. Every year in March and May, the eight cricket teams organize this format for the first time.  Rajasthan Royals took first place in the inaugural IPL.

Also Read: Top 10 Cricket Academies in India 2023-24

The fact that the IPL is open to international cricketers is its strongest feature. The IPL’s format also makes it possible for international athletes to compete in the event. Teams made up of both Indian and foreign players represent many Indian cities, such as the Delhi Daredevils, Mumbai Indians, and Kolkata Knight Riders. Each team must play 14 games before qualifying for the semifinals because each team faces the other twice. Four teams make it to the semifinals based on points scored and net run rate.  

Also Read: How to Become a Cricketer

Rules for IPL Team Formation

  • A team should have at least 16 players.
  • The starting XI squad should include these four international players.
  • Under-19 player with First-class or List experience An IPL cricketer is permitted.
  • For local players, there is no minimum quota.

Also Read: Best Universities for Athletes and Sports Lovers

IPL Team Names

  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Punjab Kings
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Rajasthan Royals
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Ahmedabad Lions
  • Lucknow Nawabs

This was all about IPL full form. Visit the General Knowledge page to discover more intriguing articles about full forms. Get in touch with the experts at Leverage Edu in order to kickstart your study abroad journey.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *



10,000+ students realised their study abroad dream with us. Take the first step today.
Talk to an expert