What is the Full Form of NITI Aayog?

2 minute read
NITI AYOG full form

The full form of NITI Aayog is the National Institute for Transforming India Aayog. It is a policy think tank under the jurisdiction of the Government of India, that was established on the 1st January 2015. The two words, “Niti Aayog” translated from Hindi mean ‘Policy Commission.’ Moreover, it reflects its mission to propel sustainable development across all sectors in India. The current Chairperson of NITI Aayog is PM Narendra Modi, with B.V.R Subramaniyam as the CEO and Suman Bery as the Vice Chairperson. Additionally, the parent government agency is the Ministry of Planning. 

Fascinating Fact! On the 1st of January, 2015 the Planning Commission was replaced by NITI Aayog. 

What is the Function of NITI Aayog?

  • NITI Aayog gives both directional and policy inputs to the government. 
  • It aims to promote involvement and participation in the economic policy-making process. 
  • Moreover, it wants to do so by incorporating the views and aspirations of the States and UTs
  • Additionally, the goal of NITI Aayog is to create an inclusive as well as Sustainable Development path for India through cooperative federalism.
  • It provides strategic and technical advice across the spectrum of key elements of sustainable development such as infrastructure, economic policies, and social policies. 
  • NITI Aayog strives to evolve mechanisms to develop potential plans at the village level and effectively monitor their implementation, by encouraging innovation and entrepreneurship.

Also Read: What is the Full Form of SFI?

What are the 7 Pillars of NITI Aayog?

Furthermore, the 7 Pillars of NITI Aayog are as follows:

  1. Pro-people
  2. Pro-activity
  3. Participation
  4. Inclusion of all
  5. Transparency
  6. Empowering
  7. Equality

Also Read: What is the Full Form of ATL?

Composition of NITI Aayog

Here is the overview of the composition of NITI Aayog:

Member Details 
Chairperson The Prime Minister of India 
Vice-ChairpersonAppointed by the Prime Minister
Members Full-time and part-time
Part-time: A maximum of 2 members are nominated from leading research organizations or top universities. 
Ex Officio membersA maximum of 4 members of the Council of Ministers are nominated by the Prime Minister.
CEOAppointed by the Prime Minister
Regional Councils Formed for a fixed term
Consists of the Chief Ministers of States and Lt. Governors of Union Territories. 
IFAD Full FormINA Full FormUNI Full FormRAF Full Form
ITU Full FormBRICS Full FormANM Full FormIADF Full Form
STC Full FormOTA Full FormMTC Full FormMES Full Form
CCL Full FormARO Full FormEDC Full FormNRC Full Form
ARP Full FormCOE Full FormIMRB Full FormCAPF Full Form

We hope this blog has helped you understand the NITI Aayog Full Form and everything related to it. If you want to know more, find the general full forms list on our blog. In the world of short forms, you can rely on the Leverage edu page to know about more important full forms like this! Connect with us study abroad experts to achieve your international dream today!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *