What is the Full Form of USSR?

2 minute read
USSR full form
USSR full form

The USSR full form is the Union of the Soviet Socialist Republic. It was a socialist state that existed from 1922 to 1991. The USSR was established on December 30, 1922, following the Russian Revolution of 1917. It was created as a federation of multiple socialist republics, with Russia being the largest and most influential. The USSR was geographically vast, spanning two continents—Europe and Asia. It covered a significant portion of Eurasia, including Russia, Ukraine, Belarus, the Baltic states, Central Asia, and parts of Eastern Europe.

Leaders of USSR

The USSR had several leaders throughout its existence. Some of the notable leaders include:

  • Vladimir Lenin (1917-1924)
  • Joseph Stalin (1924-1953)
  • Nikita Khrushchev (1953-1964)
  • Leonid Brezhnev (1964-1982)
  • Mikhail Gorbachev (1985-1991)

Political and Economic System of the USSR

The USSR had a totalitarian political system characterized by a single-party rule under the Communist Party of the Soviet Union (CPSU). The CPSU had absolute control over all aspects of governance, economy, and society.

The USSR implemented a centrally planned economy, where the state owned and controlled most of the means of production. It followed the principles of Marxism-Leninism and aimed to build socialism and eventually communism.

Also Read: BA Political Science

Space Exploration of the USSR

The USSR was the first country to launch an artificial satellite, Sputnik 1, into orbit on October 4, 1957. It also achieved other significant space milestones, including the first human-made object to reach the Moon (Luna 2) and the first manned spaceflight by Yuri Gagarin in 1961.

Cold War and the Collapse of the USSR

While learning about the USSR full form, we must also learn about its role in Cold War. The USSR was one of the main participants in the Cold War, a geopolitical rivalry between the Soviet Union and the United States. The Cold War was characterized by political, economic, and ideological conflicts between the two superpowers.

The USSR began experiencing economic and political turmoil in the 1980s, leading to reforms under Gorbachev’s leadership. However, these reforms ultimately resulted in the dissolution of the USSR on December 26, 1991, marking the end of the Cold War era.

Countries under USSR

The Union of Soviet Socialist Republic included the following countries:

Countries Under USSR Present Day Countries
Russian Soviet Federative Socialist Republic (RSFSR) Russia
Moldavian Soviet Socialist Republic (Moldavian SSR) Moldovia
Georgian Soviet Socialist Republic (Georgian SSR) Georgia
Tajik Soviet Socialist Republic (Tajik SSR) Tajikistan
Lithuanian Soviet Socialist Republic (Lithuanian SSR) Lithuania
Ukrainian Soviet Socialist Republic (UkrSSR) Ukraine
Armenian Soviet Socialist Republic (Armenian SSR) Armenia
Kyrgyz Soviet Socialist Republic (Kyrgyz SSR) Kyrgyzstan
Uzbek Soviet Socialist Republic (Uzbek SSR) Uzbekistan
Estonian Soviet Socialist Republic (Estonian SSR) Estonia
Turkmen Soviet Socialist Republic (Turkmen SSR) Turkmenistan
Latvian Soviet Socialist Republic (Latvian SSR) Latvia
Azerbaijani Soviet Socialist Republic (Azerbaijan SSR) Azerbaijan
Kazakh Soviet Socialist Republic (Kazakh SSR) Kazakhstan
Byelorussian Soviet Socialist Republic (Belorussian SSR) Belarus

Also Read: Top 25 Countries to Look Out For Studying International Relations

This was all about USSR full form. Visit our Full Form Page to discover more intriguing articles about full forms. You can also check out the consolidated 300+ full forms list!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *



25,000+ students realised their study abroad dream with us. Take the first step today.
Talk to an expert