What is the Full Form of ICAS?

2 minute read
ICAS full form

The full form of ICAS is Indian Civil Accounts Service. It refers to one of the Group A services created in order to provide numerous auditing and accounting services to the Government of India. Moreover, the ICAS functions through the Indian Civil Accounts Organisation under the Ministry of Finance. Let’s learn more about the Indian Civil Accounts Service. 

Also Read: What is the Full Form of UPSC?

Training of Probationary ICAS Officers 

The ICAS recruit undergoes a three-stage training program including:

  • ICAS officers first undergo initial training at the National Institute of Financial Management (NIFM), Faridabad. It lasts for a total of 6 months and generally also includes a foreign tour.
  • The second stage of the training is conducted at the Institute of Government Accounts and Finance (INGAF). 
  • The third stage includes On the Job Training in one of the 87 Pay & Accounts offices, located throughout the country. 

Roles and Responsibilities of ICAS

Here are some of the roles and responsibilities of the Indian Civil Accounts Service:

  • Monitoring and reconciling cash balances of the Indian government with the RBI
  • Building processes and systems for efficient handling of Union and state government accounts.
  • Generating monthly and annual financial statements.
  • Conducting regular audits to track revenue, deficits, and borrowings.

Also Read: What is the Full Form of CBT? 

ICAS Grades and Pay Scales

The salaries of ICAS officers are paid according to the 7th pay commission recommendations. 

Grade Basic Pay Level
Controller General of AccountsRs.250000
Assistant Controller of AccountsRs.56100
Additional Controller General of AccountsRs.225000
Deputy Controller General of Accounts/ Controller of AccountsRs.118500- Rs.144200
Principal Chief Controller of AccountsRs.205400
Joint Controller General of Accounts/Chief Controller of AccountsRs.182200

Future Career Prospects

  •  ICAS officers become eligible to handle accounting and auditing positions in different ministries.
  • CGA is also supported by ICAS officers at different levels and grades. Their duties are then planned and executed according to the instructions of the Ministry of Finance. 
  • In the office of the Department of Expenditure. The CGA or the Controller General of Accounts is the highest position. 
Tan Full FormHD Full FormIRS Full FormCRT Full Form
DCB Full FormPHP Full FormRBI Full FormTSP Full Form
MAT Full FormPPA Full FormEMC Full FormSRS Full Form
ETC Full FormIBPS Full FormREC Full FormITO Full Form
LOGO Full FormTDS Full FormFDI Full FormCBS Full Form

We hope this blog has helped you understand the full form of ICAS and everything related to it. If you want to know more, find the 300+ full forms list on our blog. In the world of short forms, you can rely on the Leverage edu page to know about more full forms like this! Connect with us study abroad experts to achieve your international dream today!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *