How Many Dynasties Were In the Delhi Sultanate?

3 minute read
How Many Dynasty In the Delhi Sultanate?

Qutub-ud-din Aibak founded the Delhi Sultanate in the year 1206. The Delhi Sultanate was a Muslim Sultanate started from the North of India from the 13th to the 16th century. The Delhi Sultanate comprised five dynasties namely – The Mamluk Dynasty (1206 – 1290), The Khiji Dynasty (1290-1320), The Tughlaq Dynasty (1320 – 1414), The Sayyid Dynasty (1414-1451) and The Lodi Dynasty (1451-1526). Together these dynasties ruled for 320 years over the Indian Subcontinent. Let us together get to know who founded the Delhi Sultanate and more information about it.

The Five Dynasties

The Sultanate was established in 1206 A.D. by Qutb-ud-din Aibak, a slave of Muhammad Ghori who declared himself the first Sultan of Delhi.

  • Qutb-ud-din Aibak

Qutb-ud-din Aibak was a Turkish slave who rose to power and became a trusted lieutenant of Muhammad Ghori, the ruler of the Ghurid Empire in Afghanistan. After the death of Ghori in 1206 A.D., Qutb-ud-din Aibak seized power and founded the Delhi Sultanate. He established the Mamluk dynasty, also known as the Slave dynasty, which ruled Delhi until 1290 A.D.

Also Read – How did Qutbuddin Aibak die?

  • The Slave Dynasty

The Slave Dynasty, also known as the Mamluk dynasty, ruled over Delhi for nearly a century. After the death of Qutb-ud-din Aibak in 1210 A.D., his successor Aram Shah faced internal rebellions which weakened the dynasty. However, it was Iltutmish, the third ruler of the dynasty, who strengthened the Sultanate and expanded its territories. He was known for his administrative reforms and military conquests, which laid the foundation for the future Sultanates in India.

  • The Khilji Dynasty

In 1290 A.D., Jalal-ud-din Khilji overthrew the last ruler of the Slave dynasty and established the Khilji dynasty. The most famous ruler of this dynasty was Alauddin Khilji, who was known for his military campaigns and administrative policies. During his reign, the Delhi Sultanate reached its peak in terms of territorial expansion and economic prosperity.

Also Read – List of All the Khilji Rulers (1290-1320)

  • The Tughlaq Dynasty

After the decline of the Khilji dynasty, the Tughlaq dynasty came to power in 1320 A.D. The founder of this dynasty, Ghiyas-ud-din Tughlaq, was known for his ambitious construction projects and administrative reforms. However, it was his successor, Muhammad bin Tughlaq, who is remembered for his eccentric policies such as the shifting of the capital from Delhi to Daulatabad, which ultimately led to the decline of the dynasty.

Also Read – Bakhtiyar Khilji : Early Life, Role & Nalanda Controversy

  • The Sayyid and Lodi Dynasties

The Sayyid and Lodi dynasties succeeded the Tughlaqs and ruled over Delhi until 1526 A.D. The most famous ruler of the Sayyid dynasty was Khizr Khan, who stabilized the Sultanate after a period of political instability. The Lodis, on the other hand, were known for their military power but faced constant threats from the rising power of the Mughal Empire.

Who Is The Father Of Akbar?Who Killed Aurangzeb?
Who was Akbar’s Son?Who Defeated Akbar?
How Many Wives Did Akbar Have?Who Built Humayun Tomb?
How did Jahangir Die?How Did Ashoka Die?
Who Defeated Jahangir?Where is the Tomb of Jahangir?
Who Wrote Humayun Nama?Who Wrote Akbarnama?

This was all about how many dynasty in the Delhi Sultanate. If you want to know more about topics like this, then visit our general knowledge page! Alternatively, you can also read our blog on general knowledge for competitive exams!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *