National Means Cum-Merit Scholarship 2024: Important Dates and Eligibility

4 minute read
National Means Cum-Merit Scholarship: Eligibility and Deadlines

National Means Cum Merit Scholarship is a Centrally sponsored scholarship scheme. This scholarship is implemented by the Department of School Education & Literacy under the Ministry of Human Resource Development. This scholarship helps disadvantaged people by helping them to continue their studies at the secondary level by offering INR 12,000 per annum. Every year, this scholarship is made active in November with almost 10,000+ scholarships being awarded to the students. 

In this blog, you will read about the National Means Cum Merit Scholarship is useful for all those students wishing to study further. 

About National Means Cum Merit Scholarship

The National Means Cum Merit Scholarship ( NMSS) is a centrally-sponsored scholarship program in India. The main aim of this scholarship is to provide students with financial aid. As usual, this scholarship is meant for all the meritorious students who belong to the economically weaker sections of society. This scholarship is provided to all those students who wish to continue their higher education. 

Also Read: Aikyashree Scholarship 2024: Amount, Scholarship Status, and Last Date

Important Dates of National Means Cum Merit Scholarship

The dates for the National Means Cum Merit Scholarship (NMSS) are announced every year during August with its deadline usually falling in October. Here are all the important dates which the students can take note of.

StateLast Date to Apply (Tentative)
NMMS Assam 10 October 2024
NMMS JK FormOctober 2024 
NMMS BiharOctober 2024 
NMMS Gujarat FormOctober 2024 
NMMS Odisha Form31 August 2024
NMMS AP Form25 September 2024
NMMS Karnataka4 October 2024
NMMS PunjabOctober 2024 
NMMS West Bengal13 August 2024 (revised)
NMMS Maharashtra23 August 2024 (without late fee)
3 September 2024 (with late fee) 
NMMS Telangana13 October 2024 
NMMS Jharkhand FormOctober 2024
NMMS Himachal Pradesh10 September 2024, 25 September 2024 
NMMS Goa FormOctober 2024
NMMS Haryana Form10 October 2024
NMMS Uttarakhand Form15 September 2024 
NMMS Chhattisgarh Form8 September 2024
NMMS PuducherryOctober 2024 
NMMS Uttar Pradesh28 September 2024

Must Read: Prime Minister Scholarship Scheme: Central Armed Police Forces & Assam Rifles

Eligibility of National Means Cum Merit Scholarship

As mentioned above, the National Means Cum Merit Scholarship is meant only for meritorious students who are not financially backed up and need to complete thrift higher studies. To be eligible for the National Means Cum Merit Scholarship, the student will have to fulfil the following eligibility criteria. Only those eligible will be able to take the test. 

  • All candidates wishing to apply for this scholarship must ensure that they are studying in Class 9 after getting promoted from Class 8 with at least 55 per cent aggregate grades. 
  • The student should be pursuing their education from Government/Local Body/Government-aided schools.
  • The candidate should have scored 66 per cent marks in their Class 10. 
  • After getting a clear promotion from Class 11 to Class 12, the students should have scored 55 per cent marks or equivalent. Students belonging to the SC/ST category will get a relaxation of 5 per cent. 
  • The family income of the candidate should not be more than 1.5 lakhs.
  • Students enrolled in NVS, KVS, Sainik schools and private schools are not eligible for this scholarship. 

How to Apply for National Means Cum Merit Scholarship?

To apply for the National Means Cum Merit Scholarship, the student must fulfil all the eligibility criteria. Only then the students will be able to apply for the scholarship and take the exam. Here is the step-by-step guide for all those wishing to apply for this scholarship:

  • Firstly, the candidates will have to enrol themselves on the National Scholarship Portal (NSP) as new users. 
  • Candidates applying for the scholarship must keep scanned copies of all the required documents with themselves. 
  • Upon registering themselves on the NSP, the candidate will get an application ID. This application ID will have to be used as a ‘Login ID’ and NSP for future reference.
  • Applicants studying Class 9 and 10 will have to apply under the Pre-Matric scholarship category. While for candidates studying 11 and 12 will have to apply under the Post-Matric scholarship category.
  • While filling out the application form, the candidate must be careful with the information they are filling.
  • Upload all the necessary documents in the said format.
  • Lastly, check if all the details are correct and submit it. 

Also Read: BYJU’S National Aptitude Test (BNAT) Scholarship 2024: Amount, Details, Eligibility

Documents Required For Application

  • Aadhar Card
  • Educational certificates 
  • School Enrolment Number 
  • Bank Details 
  • State Domicile Certificate

Selection Criteria

Even though the National Means Cum Merit Scholarship is a Central Government scholarship scheme, the selection test is conducted by each State/UT for their respective students. The exam tests the student’s mental ability test as well as a scholastic aptitude test whose guidelines are set by the NCERT. Children with special needs are given an extra 90 minutes.

Relevant Reads:

Sonu Sood IAS Scholarship 2024: How to Apply, Registration, Benefits, EligibilityDelhi University Scholarship 2024: Form, Amount, Last Date
GPAT Scholarship 2024: Amount, Eligibility,Details, and BenefitsSikh Human Development Foundation (SHDF) Scholarships 2024-25
Gurukripa Scholarship Cum Admission Test (GSAT): Eligibility, Syllabus, ApplicationPARAS Scholarship Programme 2024: Application Form, Last Date, Eligibility


Q1. What is the NMSS competitive exam?

A. National Means Cum Merit Scholarship is a competitive scholarship exam which is meant for 8th-standard students and above wishing to study abroad. 

Q2. What is the cut-off required in order to clear the National Means cum Merit Scholarship?

A. Passing marks required for the General category is 32 per cent while for the unreserved category is 40 per cent.

Q3. How many subjects are there for the National Means cum Merit Scholarship exam?

A. There are two sections in the NMMS syllabus i.e. SAT and MAT.

We hope this blog provided you with all the necessary information on the National Means Cum Merit Scholarship. This blog talked about the scholarship in detail, mentioned all the eligibility criteria and much more. 

For more such updates, make sure to subscribe to Leverage Edu to explore more Indian Scholarships like this daily. Thank you for reading!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *