NCERT Class 8 Maths Syllabus

5 minute read
Class 8 Maths syllabus

Considered as one of the essential subjects to become successful, Mathematics is a vital part of our schooling, at least till class Xth! From simple addition, subtraction, multiplication and division to complex theories like rational numbers, factorisation and whatnot, the NCERT class 8 Maths syllabus takes an advanced flip. If you are someone who is about to start their class 8th session, here is an insightful blog covering all the topics in the Class 8 Maths syllabus you are to study in the upcoming year!

List of NCERT Books Class 8

Class 8 Maths Syllabus

Check the chapter-wise Class 8 Maths syllabus along with the description of each chapter below. The short description of each chapter will help you to understand what you can expect to study during your journey of Class 8 learning.

Chapter 1: Rational Numbers

You will learn about topics like the Properties of Rational Numbers, Rational Numbers between two Rational Numbers, Representation on a Number line, etc.

Chapter 2: Linear Equations in One Variable

Solving equations which have linear expressions on one side and Numbers on the other side, some applications, reducing the equation to a similar form, solving equations which have variables on both sides and equations that are reducible to the linear form are the major topics of chapter 2 of class 8 maths.

Save your calculation time with these Mental Maths Tips and Tricks!

Chapter 3: Understanding Quadrilateral

Following are the important concepts of this chapter- Polygons, kinds of Quadrilateral, Sum of measures of the exterior angles of a polygon, some special parallelograms, etc. 

Chapter 4: Practical Geometry 

If prepared well enough, this chapter helps students to score high and improve their overall scores in the subject of Maths. Chapter 4 of Class 8 Maths, Practical Geometry will explain constructing different parallelograms using a ruler and a compass.  

Also read: Stars and Solar System Class 8

Chapter 5: Data Handling

Class 8 maths syllabus for chapter 5, Data Handling will have topics like Looking for information, grouping data, organising data, chances and probability, circle graph or pie chart, etc.

Chapter 6: Squares and Square Roots

Chapter 6 of the Class 8 Maths syllabus, i.e. Squares and Square Roots teaches the properties of square roots, some more interesting patterns, finding the square root of a number, square roots, square roots of decimals, estimating square roots, etc.  

Chapter 7: Cubes and Cube Roots

Chapter 7 of class 8 Maths syllabus proves to be a bit difficult for students to understand. This unit of the syllabus will provide you with insights about cubes and cube roots. 

Also read: Science Projects for Class 8

Chapter 8: Comparing Quantities

These are the concepts included in this chapter of the maths syllabus Recalling Ratios and percentages, finding the increase or decrease per cent, the price related to buying and selling (profit and loss), finding discounts, compound interest, sales tax/ value-added Tax/ Goods and services tax, deducing a formula for Compound interest, applications of compound interest formula, rate compounded annually or half-yearly (semi-annually).  

Chapter 9: Algebraic Expression and Identities

Class 8 maths syllabus of chapter 9 includes expressions, terms & factors and coefficients, monomial, binomial, polynomial, like and unlike terms, multiplication of Algebraic Expression, addition and subtraction of Algebraic Expression, multiplying a monomial by a monomial, multiplying by a monomial by a polynomial, identity, multiplying a polynomial by a polynomial, standard identities, applying Identities, etc.

Chapter 10: Visualising Solid Shapes

Important concepts of this unit are a view of 3D shapes, Mapping space around us, Faces, edges, vertices, etc.  

Consider yourself a Genius? Why not take this Maths Quiz!

Chapter 11: Mensuration

The area of a trapezium, the area of a polygon, solid shapes, the area of a general quadrilateral, volume and capacity, the surface area of a cube, cuboid, cylinder, the volume of a cube, cuboid and cylinder, are some of the essential inclusions of chapter 11 of Class 8 Maths syllabus.

Chapter 12: Exponents and Powers 

Here are some important points of this chapter of class 8 maths- Powers with Negative Exponents, use of Exponents to express small numbers in standard form, Law of Exponents

Chapter 13: Direct and Inverse Proportions 

Chapter 13 of the maths syllabus will enlighten you about Direct proportions and inverse proportions.  

Also Read: NCERT Class 8 Geography Chapter 1 Resources Notes & Solutions Free PDF

Chapter 14: Factorisation

Vai this chapter, you will get familiar with what factorisation is, division of algebraic expressions continued (polynomial + polynomial), Division of algebraic expressions, etc. 

Chapter 15: Introduction to Graphs

Chapter 15 of class 8 Maths possesses special weight in the syllabus and in the future learnings of the students as it teaches the essential concepts of graphs. This unit is all about Linear graphs and their applications.  

Chapter 16: Playing with Numbers 

You will learn about topics like numbers in general form, letters for digits, games with numbers, and a test of divisibility in this unit of maths syllabus. 

Also Read: Law And Social Justice Class 8

Reference Books for Class 8 Maths Syllabus

Apart from the NCERT textbook for class 8 Mathematics, one can also refer to the following books in order to comprehend the syllabus thoroughly: 

Books LinksPrice (Paperback)
Madhuban Targeting Mathematics for Class 8 by Pearl
Scott & Sheetal Choudhry
Click Here to Buy!INR 225
Pearson Active Maths Textbook for Class 8Click Here to Buy!INR 415
Full Marks Guide Mathematics for Class 8Click Here to Buy!INR 350
Bharti Bhawan RS Aggarwal Mathematics Textbook for
Class 8
Click Here to Buy!INR 317
Rachna Sagar Together with Mathematics for Class 8
Click Here to Buy!INR 529

Read more interesting blogs by clicking on the links given in the table below.

NCERT Class 8 History Chapter 7 Women, Caste, and Reform NotesClass 8 Combustion and Flame
Class 8 Crop Production and ManagementHuman Resources Class 8
Notice Writing for Class 8Coal And Petroleum Class 8 Notes
Class 8 Reaching the Age of AdolescenceNCERT Class 8 Making of National Movement Notes PDF


How many chapters are there in NCERT Maths class 8?

There are 16 chapters in NCERT Maths class 8.

What is the first chapter in NCERT Maths class 8?

The first chapter in NCERT Maths class 8 is Rational Numbers. You will learn about topics like the properties of Rational Numbers, Rational Numbers between two Rational Numbers, Representation on a Number line, etc.

Which is the best book for NCERT Maths class 8?

Madhuban Targeting Mathematics for Class 8 by Pearl Scott & Sheetal Choudhry
Pearson Active Maths Textbook for Class 8

We hope that this blog about the class 8 maths syllabus has provided you with clear insight into the subject. To solve all your career queries regarding what to choose after class 10, reach out to our Leverage Edu experts!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *