EWS Certificate Eligibility and Documents Required

3 minute read
ews certificate eligibility

In India, the Economically Weaker Section of the society is a subcategory for people with a family income of less than Rs 8 lakh or who possess less than 5 acres of land. Interestingly, any citizen of India who falls under the EWS category can receive the numerous benefits offered by the government. All they have to do is simply get an EWS certificate online. Yes, you read right. Forget standing in long queues and enjoy the convenience of doing things at home using your device. But what about the EWS certificate eligibility? Read this blog to find out the latest information. 

Also Read: Know All About DAY-NULM Scheme

What is the EWS Certificate? 

Before moving on, let’s first begin with the basics of what is an EWS certificate. 

  • To begin with an overview, the citizens of India who belong to the Economically Weaker Section are issued with an EWS certificate. 
  • It helps them avail 10% reservation in the government job sector and higher education sector of the country. 
  • Moreover, the EWS Bill was first enacted by the Gujarat Government on 14 January 2019. 
  • It was approved by the President of India on 14 January 2019 

What is the Criteria for EWS Certificate? 

If you want to enjoy the benefits of an EWS certificate, the first thing you need to understand is the EWS certificate eligibility. 

Criteria Explanation 
Category The person must belong to the General Category. 
Family incomeThe family’s annual income should be less than Rs. 8 lakhs. This includes all sources like agriculture, business, etc. 
Agricultural landIf a person or any member of his family owns agricultural land, it must be less than 5 acres. 
Residential plot The residential plot owned by the interested candidate should be less than 100 sq. yards in a notified municipality sector.If the residence is in non-notified sectors, they should be below 200 sq. yards. The residential area of the candidate and their family must be less than 1000 sq ft.  

Also Read: Where Does the Indian Constitution Draw Heavily From? 

Documents Required

Below we have jotted down a list of documents that are required to acquire an EWS certificate:

  • Pan Card
  • Aadhar Card
  • Caste Certificate 
  • BPL Card
  • Income Details 
  • Bank statement
  • Affidavit or Self-Declaration 
  • Passport size photograph
  • Domicile Certificate

Benefits of EWS Certificate 

The EWS category can enjoy multiple benefits from an EWS certificate such as:

  • It promotes the upliftment of General Category people who are from a financially weak background. 
  • Eligible candidates can avail a wide range of educational benefits and government schemes. 
  • A 10% EWS reservation is applicable for all major universities under UGC
  • Eligible candidates can also avail State and Central government subsidy schemes through this certificate.   

Also Read: Right to Life and Right to Personal Liberty 

Related Blogs

What is Computer Literacy?Where is the Headquarters of UNICEF?
Who invented the Supercomputer?Know all about the Father of Soil Science
National Constitution DayEnergy Conservation Day 2023


Which caste is eligible for the EWS category?

The government of India has laid down specific rules and guidelines that offer insights into who is eligible for the EWS category. This scheme of reservation does not include SCs, STs, and OBCs. Moreover, families whose gross annual income is more than Rs 8 lakh are also excluded from this scheme.  

What is the validity period of the EWS certificate?

The validity of the EWS certificate is up to 1 year only. 

Can OBC apply for an EWS certificate?

No, people belonging to the OBC, SC, and ST categories cannot receive the advantages of an EWS certificate. 

Hope you enjoyed reading about the EWS certificate eligibility. For more information about such informative articles, check the trending events page of Leverage Edu.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *