Delhi School Holidays 2024: Check Calendar Here

3 minute read
10 shares
Delhi School Holidays 2024

Delhi School Holidays 2024: Schools in Delhi grant summer vacations of 5 to 7 weeks and winter vacations of 2 to 4 weeks due to extreme temperatures during summers and winters. Furthermore, school holidays can be classified into gazetted/public holidays and restricted/optional holidays. A gazetted holiday is an officially recognised and observed holiday that is published in a government-issued gazette. These holidays are non-working days in schools. Whereas, on restricted or optional holidays schools can choose not to grant holidays. 

Let us now look at the list of holidays in the academic calendar 2024. 

January February March April 
May June July August
September October November  December

Delhi School Holidays 2024: Gazetted/Public Holidays

Here is a list of gazetted or public Delhi School Holidays:

Date | Day Name of the Holiday
26 January 2024 | Friday Republic Day
25 March 2024 | Monday Holi
29 March 2024 | Friday Good Friday
11 April 2024 | Thursday Eid-ul-Fitr
17 April 2024 | Wednesday Ram Navami
23 May 2024 | Thursday Buddha Purnima
17 June 2024 | Monday Bakrid (Id-ul-Zuha)
17 July 2024 | Wednesday Muharram
15 August 2024 | Thursday Independence Day
26 August 2024 | Monday Janmashtami
16 September | Monday  Id–e–Milad (Milad–un–Nabi)
2 October 2024 | Wednesday Gandhi Jayanti
12 October 2024 | Saturday Dussehra
31 October 2024 | Thursday Diwali
15 November 2024 | Friday Guru Nanak Jayanti
25 December 2024 | Wednesday Christmas 

Also Read: Important Days & Dates 2024: National & International Days

Delhi School Holidays 2024: Restricted/Optional Holidays

In this section, we have a list of restricted/optional holidays for Delhi schools:

Date | Day Name of the Holiday
1 January 2024 | Monday New Year’s Day
13 January 2024 | Saturday Lohri
14 January 2024 | Sunday Makar Sankranti
15 January 2024 | Monday Pongal / Magha Bihu
17 January 2024 | Wednesday Guru Gobind Singh Jayanti
25 January 2024 | Thursday Hazrat Ali’s Birthday
14 February 2024 | Wednesday Basant Panchami / Saraswati Puja
19 February 2024 | Monday Shivaji Jayanti
24 February 2024 | Saturday Guru Ravi Das Jayanti
6 March 2024 | Friday Maha Shivratri
8 March 2024 | Sunday Holika Dahan
25 March 2024 | Monday Dolyatra
31 March 2024 | Sunday Easter Sunday
5 April 2024 | Friday Jamat-Ul-Vida
9 April 2024 | Tuesday Ugadi / Chaitra Sukladi / Cheti Chand / Gudi Padava
13 April 2024 | Saturday Baisakhi / Vishu
14 April 2024 | Sunday Bahag Bihu / Meshadi / Vaisakhadi
8 May 2024 | Wednesday Birth Anniversary of Rabindranath Tagore
7 July 2024 | Sunday Rath Yatra
15 August 2024 | Thursday Navroz (Parsi New Year)
19 August 2024 | Monday Raksha Bandhan
7 September 2024 | Saturday Ganesh Chaturthi
15 September 2024 | Sunday Onam
10 October 2024 | Thursday Maha Saptami
11 October 2024 | Friday Maha Ashtami / Maha Navami
20 October 2024 | Sunday Karva Chauth
31 October 2024 | Thursday Naraka Chaturdasi
2 November 2024 | Saturday Govardhan Puja
3 November 2024 | Sunday Bhai Dooj
7 November 2024 | Thursday Chhath Puja
24 November 2024 | Sunday Martyrdom Day of Guru Teg Bahadur
24 December 2024 | Tuesday Christmas Eve

Also Read: ️Essay on Festivals: Samples in 150, 250 Words

Summer Vacation in Delhi Schools

One of the most sought-after Delhi School Holidays is summer vacation as summers. The state experiences extreme summers during May, June, and July, owing to which schools in Delhi offer 5 to 7 weeks of summer vacation to students. The scorching heat and dry weather of the state can make outdoor activities uncomfortable even dangerous for extended periods. Also, the prevalence of loo between May to July can affect the health of school-going kids. Thus, to protect young kids from extreme weather conditions schools in Delhi remain closed from the 1st week of May to the last day of June. 

Also Read: 10 Ways to Make Your Summer Break Productive

Winter Vacation in Delhi Schools

Just like summers, Delhi experiences extreme winter weather in December and January. In the second last week of December, temperatures go down to 2 Degrees Celcius. Likewise, January in Delhi is also chilly and foggy. Owing to the severe cold, schools in Delhi remain closed in the last week of December and the first two weeks of January. 

Also Read: Essay on Winter Vacation ✍️: Samples in 150, 250 Words

Lohri Festival 2024: Date, History, Significance, and Rituals The Harvest Festivals In India: From Lohri to Hornbill
About Pongal Festival 2024: Date, History, and Significance Essay on Lohri in 100, 200 and 300 Words in English
🪔Essay on Diwali in English: Samples 100, 150, 250, and 500 Words   Essay on Eid ul Fitr in 400 Words
Holi Essay: Free Sample Essays 100 To 500 Words In English Essay on Pongal in 100 to 400 Words in English
Essay on Durga Puja: 100 to 500 Words Essay on Dussehra: Samples in 100, 250 Words and 500 Words

Stay in tune with Leverage Edu for information on school education

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *

*

*