Who were the Leaders Of the Non-Cooperation Movement?

2 minute read
Non-Cooperation Movement leaders

The Non-Cooperation Movement was led by Mahatma Gandhi and launched from September 1920 to February 1922. It started after the sad incident of the Jallianwalah Bagh Massacre but was called off because of the violent incident of Chauri Chaura. This nationwide movement was a consensus amongst leaders and was declared after the Calcutta Session of 1920 by the Indian National Congress (INC). From the session, it was decided that it would be a non-violent and non-cooperation movement against foreign goods and the British administration. In this blog, let us know who all were the leaders involved in the Non-cooperation movement.

Non-Cooperation Movement Leaders

Here is a list of non-cooperation movement leaders who were involved from the various parts of the nation and contributed accordingly – 

LeadersTheir Contribution 
Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi In this movement, he toured around the nation and addressed lakhs of people. He also gave his principles of non-violence(ahimsa), the use of swadeshi products and the removal of untouchability.  
C.R. Das Also famous as Desh Bandhu, he laid the groundwork for the resolutions of the Non-Coopertion Movement. He played a great role in the areas of Calcutta and Chittagong.
Motilal NehruHe resigned from government service as a lawyer in the wake of this non-cooperation movement call and joined the movement along with other prominent lawyers.
Jawaharlal NehruNehru supported the movement and encouraged the formation of the Kisan Sabha, who could further raise their voices against the exploitation of peasants.
Subhas Chandra BoseBose was appointed as the principal of the National College of Calcutta and later resigned from Civil Services.
J. M SenguptaHe was a nationalist leader who worked for the labourers of tea estates of Assam.

Also Read – India’s Journey to Independence from 1857 to 1947

Credit: All Indians Matter

Other leaders were –

  • Lala Lajpat Rai
  • Sardar Vallabhabhai Patel
  • Dr Rajendra Prasad
  • Alluri Sitaram Raju
  • Jairamdas Daulatram
  • Shaukat Ali and Muhammed Ali (Ali Brothers)
  • Baba Ramchandra
  • Premchand
  • Bhagwan Ahir
  • N.C. Bordoloi
  • Swami Govindanand
  • Muhammad Osman
  • Purushottamdas Tandon
  • Govind Ballabh Pant
  • Ganesh Shankar Vidyarthi
  • Lal Bahadur Shashtri

And the list goes on with many other leaders whose sacrifice and determination to fight for the freedom of India has not gone unnoticed. They all were visionary thinkers and nationalist leaders who supported the non-cooperation movement in their own ways and even went to jail for their sacrifices.

Salt Satyagraha MovementBardoli Satyagraha
Kheda SatyagrahaSwadeshi Movement Started In Which Year? 
Ahmedabad Mill Strike of 1918Bardoli Satyagraha Leader
Who Started the Swadeshi Movement?Second Round Table Conference
Popular Struggles and Movements20+ Greatest Indian Freedom Fighters and their Sacrifices

That’s all about the Non-Cooperation Movement leaders. If you want to read more articles like this, you can get Study notes on the Modern History of India here. Also, you can visit our general knowledge page on Indian History!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *