🏏ICC Cricket World Cup Champions List from 1975 to 2023

2 minute read
cricket world cup champions list

Cricket is the favourite sport of almost every person in the world. Teams of different countries participate in the Cricket World Cup. The Cricket World Cup is officially called the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup. It is a One Day International Cricket tournament i.e. ODI match. The first edition of the ICC Cricket World Cup was organized in England in 1975 whereas the current tournament i.e. ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 is in India. The finals was on 19 November 2023 in Ahmedabad, India at Narendra Modi Stadium. Read this article to get the Cricket World Cup Champions List from 1975 to 2023!

Also Read:  Essay on Cricket

Cricket World Cup Champions List

The Cricket World Cup is held every year in different countries. This year, the World Cup is organized in India from 5 October 2023 to 19 November 2023. The finals was held between India and Australia and everybody is ready to watch the match as it is one of the most interesting ones because Australian Cricket Team is the most successful team and they have been felicitated with the winning title 5 times. As per the records, Australia was the first team to win three back-to-back World Cups in 2007. 

India also won the title two times i.e. in 1983 and 2011.

Also Read: Where Will the 2023 World Cup be Hosted?

List of Cricket World Cup Winners (1975-2023)

Mentioned below is the list of Cricket World Cup Champions for OBI Cricket:

YearWinnerCaptain of the Winning TeamWinning ScoreHosting CountryRunner-up
1975West IndiesClive Lloyd291-8EnglandAustralia
1979West IndiesClive Lloyd286-9EnglandEngland
1983IndiaKapil Dev183EnglandWest Indies
1987AustraliaAllan Border253-5India and PakistanEngland
1992PakistanImran Khan249-6Australia and New ZealandEngland
1996Sri LankaArjuna Ranatunga245-3Pakistan and IndiaAustralia
1999AustraliaSteve Waugh133-2EnglandPakistan
2003AustraliaRicky Ponting359-2South AfricaIndia
2007AustraliaRicky Ponting281-4West IndiesSri Lanka
2011IndiaMS Dhoni277-4India and BangladeshSri Lanka
2015AustraliaMichael Clarke186-3Australia and New ZealandNew Zealand
2019EnglandEoin Morgan241England and WalesNew Zealand
2023AustraliaPat Cummins241-4IndiaIndia

Also Read: Cricket World Cup Schedule 2023 

Relevant Blogs

ICC World Cup Ticket Price 2023: Cheapest PricesEngland vs New Zealand: ICC World Cup 2023
World Cup 2023 Groups: The Division of Top 10How to Become a Cricketer? 
Varanasi Cricket Stadium LocationHow Many Times has India won the Cricket World Cup (ODI)?


Who won the most World Cup in cricket history?

To date, 11 editions of the Cricket World Cup are organized every four years in which around 20 nations have participated. Australia won the most World Cup in Cricket history i.e. 6 times. It won the matches in 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2015, and in 2023.

How many World Cup titles has India won?

India won two World Cup Titles in 1983 and 2011 against West Indies and Sri Lanka respectively.

How many T20 World Cups has India won?

India has won only one T20 World Cup, in the inaugural edition in 2007 and defeated Pakistan by 5 runs.

For more information on such interesting topics, visit your trending events page and follow Leverage Edu.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *