All About the Indian Judicial Service Exam

3 minute read
Indian Judicial Service Exam

The Indian Judicial Service Exam is a highly prestigious and competitive examination conducted to recruit candidates for judicial services in India. It serves as a gateway for aspiring law professionals to make their careers in law and enter the esteemed Indian judiciary. In this blog, we will explore the various aspects of the Indian Judicial Service Exam, including its significance, eligibility criteria, exam pattern, preparation strategies, and career prospects.

Exam NameJudicial Services Examination 
PCS (J)-Provincial Civil Service-Judicial Examination
Sections of Exam Prelims, Mains and Viva Voce
Conducted in 24 States
Candidates appearing for the exam 50,000 to 60,000

Eligibility Criteria

To be eligible for the Indian Judicial Service Exam, candidates must meet certain criteria, which may vary slightly depending on the specific state or union territory conducting the examination. The most common requirements include:

  • Nationality: Candidates must be Indian citizens.
  • Age Limit: The minimum age limit is usually 21 years, and the maximum age limit is around 35-45 years (varies by state).
  • Educational Qualifications: Candidates must possess a bachelor’s degree in law (LLB) from a recognized university. Some states may require a minimum percentage of marks in the qualifying examination.

Also Read: NCA Exam Syllabus 2023: Download PDFs (Direct Link)

Exam Pattern

The exam pattern for the Indian Judicial Service Exam may differ slightly from state to state, but it generally consists of three stages:

Preliminary Examination: The preliminary exam is an objective-type test that assesses candidates’ knowledge of legal aptitude, general awareness, and reasoning abilities.

Main Examination: The main examination is a descriptive type of test that evaluates candidates’ understanding of various subjects, including substantive law, procedural law, and legal reasoning. It usually consists of written papers, essay-type questions, and case studies.

Viva Voce (Interview): Candidates who qualify for the main examination are called for a personal interview, also known as the viva voce. The interview panel assesses the candidate’s personality, communication skills, legal knowledge, and overall suitability for a judicial position.

Also Read: Energy Politics and Law: Courses, Topics, Colleges, Scope

Preparation Strategies

Preparing for the Indian Judicial Service Exam requires a well-structured and disciplined approach. Here are some essential strategies to consider:

  • Have a knowledge of the exam syllabus. This will help you to create a study plan accordingly.
  • Try to study through the recognized books. Refer to legal publications, online resources, legal journals, and judicial precedents to cover the relevant topics. 
  • Take help from mock tests and previous year question papers. It will help you to improve your time management skills and learn your strengths and weaknesses. 
  • Try to stay updated with current affairs. Read newspapers, and legal magazines and refer to online legal portals. 
  • Write practice papers before the main examination to enhance your legal writing. Try to write essays, case analyses, and legal judgements. 

Career Prospects

Qualifying for the Indian Judicial Service Exam opens up numerous career prospects in the Indian judiciary. Successful candidates are appointed as judicial officers at various levels, such as civil judges, district judges, and higher judicial services. These positions involve adjudicating cases, interpreting laws, and ensuring justice is served. 

The Indian judiciary offers a platform for individuals to contribute to society, uphold constitutional values and make a lasting impact on the legal system.


Who is eligible for the Indian Judicial Services exam?

A citizen of India with an age limit from 21-35 years can appear for the Indian Judicial Services exam. Additionally, he/she should have completed 3-5 years at a government and bar council-recognized university.

What are the three stages of the Indian Judicial Service Exam?

The three stages of the Indian Judicial Service Exam are Preliminary, Main Exam and an interview.

Which is the easiest judiciary exam?

Comparatively, the easiest judiciary examination is the Madhya Pradesh Judicial Services exam. 

By preparing efficiently for the exam you can increase your chances of qualifying for the Indian Judicial Service Exam and pave the way for a successful career in the judiciary.

For more updates check out our Indian Exams page, and don’t forget to follow us on Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn, and Twitter

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *