What is the Full Form of CM?

2 minute read

The full form of CM is Chief Minister. The term is used in India to describe the head of the respective state government and sometimes union territories. Currently, only the union territories of Delhi, Jammu and Kashmir and Puducherry have serving chief ministers in India.  

In India, there are no limits to the number of terms that a CM can serve. Read on to know more about cm full form.

Who is a CM?

A CM is the head of a state government. He/she is responsible for leading the state government’s council of ministers and can be assisted in that role by a deputy chief minister. A CM also selects the chief secretary and can also authorise departments for the cabinet ministers of their state and ministers of state. He/she also has the authority to transfer, suspend, or promote officers of their state.

UPSC Exams: 2023 List, Eligibility & Selection Process

Eligibility to Become a CM

The Constitution of India has set the principal qualifications one must meet to be eligible to become a CM. Here are the eligibility criteria: 

  • One must be a citizen of India.
  • One should be a member of the state legislature
  • One must be 25 years of age or more

Please note that someone who is not a member of the legislature can be considered for the position of a CM provided they get themselves elected to the State Legislature within six months from the date of their appointment.

How is a CM elected?

A CM is elected through a majority in the state legislative assembly. This is institutionally established by the vote of confidence in the legislative assembly, as suggested by the governor of the state who is the appointing authority. A CM is elected for five years. 

Oath Ceremony of a CM

According to the constitution, the CM is appointed by the governor, and the oath swearing-in is done before the governor of the state.

The oath of office is as mentioned below:

I, do swear in the name of God/solemnly affirm that I will bear true faith and allegiance to the Constitution of India as by law established, that I will uphold the sovereignty and integrity of India, that I will faithfully and conscientiously discharge my duties as a Minister for the State of and that I will do right to all manner of people in accordance with the Constitution and the law without fear or favour, affection or ill-will. –  Constitution of India, Schedule 3, Para 5

You may also read:

What is the Full Form of UPSC? 

What is the Full Form of VIP?

What is the Full Form of NIA?

What is the Full Form of PO?

What is the Full Form of MP?

We hope this information helped you to understand the full form of CM. For more information like this, you can check our page.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *



25,000+ students realised their study abroad dream with us. Take the first step today.
Talk to an expert