What is the Full Form of RR?

3 minute read

RR Full Form is Rajasthan Royals. It is a professional franchise cricket team based in Jaipur, Rajasthan. They compete in the Indian Premier League (IPL) and have been a part of the league since its inception in 2008. Here, we’ll delve into their franchise history, team performance over the years, notable players, and more.

Franchise History

The Rajasthan Royals were among the original eight teams in the inaugural IPL season in 2008. They were owned by Emerging Media, who won the franchise with a bid of $67 million. Over the years, there have been controversies surrounding the team’s ownership, leading to brief expulsions and legal disputes. However, the team continued to participate in the IPL.

Ban in 2015

In 2015, the Rajasthan Royals faced a two-year ban due to the Lodha Committee inquiry, related to issues such as inappropriate bids and unreported ownership changes. The owner, Raj Kundra, was banned for life.

Team History

  • 2008 IPL Season: The Royals won the inaugural IPL season under the captaincy of Shane Warne, despite being considered underdogs initially. Shane Watson was a standout performer.
  • 2009 IPL Season: The team struggled without key players like Sohail Tanvir and Shane Watson, finishing 6th out of 8 teams.
  • 2010 IPL Season: The Royals faced expulsion from the IPL but managed to remain a part of the league after legal battles. They finished 7th.
  • 2011 IPL Season: Rajasthan Royals retained Shane Warne and Shane Watson. They finished 6th again.
  • 2012 IPL Season: A disappointing season saw them finish 7th.
  • 2013 IPL Season: They reached the playoffs and qualified for the Champions League Twenty20 but couldn’t secure the IPL title.
  • 2018 IPL Season: Returning after a two-year suspension, they finished 4th in the regular season.
  • 2019 to 2022 Seasons: The team underwent changes in captaincy and player composition. They reached the playoffs but couldn’t clinch the title.
  • 2023 IPL Season: The upcoming IPL season in 2023 holds high expectations for the Rajasthan Royals, who were the runners-up in the previous season. They aim to secure the championship this time.

Team Identity

  • Team Anthem: The team anthem, ‘Halla Bol,’ has been sung by artists like Ila Arun and Sunidhi Chauhan. Their current anthem is ‘Phir Halla Bol.’
  • Mascot: The team’s mascot is a lion named Moochu Singh.
  • Rivalries: The Rajasthan Royals have a rivalry with the Punjab Kings, known as the Northern Derby. It has produced high-scoring encounters and memorable moments.
  • Notable Players: The Royals are known for picking relatively unknown players who later became international stars, such as Shane Watson, Yusuf Pathan, Ajinkya Rahane, and others. They also signed prominent international cricketers like Shane Warne, Rahul Dravid, Jos Buttler, and Ravichandran Ashwin.
  • Home Ground: The Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur is the home ground for the Rajasthan Royals. It has a seating capacity of 30,000 and is one of the top cricket venues in India.
CSK Full FormBCCI Full FormATM Full FormCWC Full Form
ICC Full FormAGM Full FormBPL Full FormBPO Full Form
BDD Full FormCAR Full FormBasic Full FormSRS Full Form
DRS Full FormBOLT Full FormINA Full FormNIA Full Form
RTI Full FormIPL Full FormFDI Full FormLOGO Full Form

I trust that you’ve discovered the information you were seeking about RR Full Form. Please feel free to continue exploring our page for additional full forms and related content. If you have any more questions or need further assistance, don’t hesitate to reach out.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *