Who Elects the Members of Rajya Sabha?

2 minute read
Who Elects the Members of Rajya Sabha

The Rajya Sabha or the Council of States, is the upper house of Indian Parliament. Unlike the Lok Sabha, which represents the People directly, the Rajya Sabha represents the States and Union Territories. Furthermore, the composition of the Rajya Sabha shows India’s commitment to Federalism. It guarantees that the States and Union Territories have a say in our nation’s legislative process. Moreover, through Indirect elections and nominations, the Rajya Sabha aims to be a way through which the interests of diverse regions of India and expert voices are represented.

Indirectly Elected Members

This is such a noteworthy feature of the Rajya Sabha that its Members are not elected directly by the People of India. Instead, they are elected indirectly by the Elected members of State Legislative Assemblies. In addition, this method of election is a reflection of the federal nature of India’s democracy.

Representation by States and Union Territories

Furthermore, each State and Union territory is allocated a certain number of seats in the Rajya Sabha. These seats are based on their population and other factors. Moreover, this makes sure that there is a fair representation of the diverse regions within India.

Procedure for Allocation

The allocation of seats follows a procedure that takes into account the population of the State and its representation in the Lok Sabha. In addition, States with larger populations and those with a greater need for representation are allotted more seats in the Rajya Sabha.

Election Process

When the seats in the Rajya Sabha from a State are about to fall vacant due to retirement or other reasons, elections are held to fill these vacancies. Furthermore, Members of the State Legislative Assemblies participate in these elections.

Role of Union Territories

Even though Union territories do not have their own Legislative Assemblies like States, they are still represented in the Rajya Sabha. Members from Union territories are elected by the members of the respective Legislative Assemblies or by Parliament. Hence depending on the specific provisions for each Union territory.

Nominated Members

Apart from the indirectly elected members, the President of India can also nominate 12 members to the Rajya Sabha. These members are experts from different fields such as literature, science, art, and social service. Thus, this requirement adds an aspect of diversity and expertise to the Council of States.

Related Blogs

What is Adjournment Motion?Meaning of Zero Hour
What is the Doctrine of Colourable Legislation?What is a Writ of Prohibition?
What is the Difference between Fundamental Rights and Directive Principles?What is the Difference between Fundamental Duties and Directive Principles?
What is Universal Adult Franchise?What is the Difference Between Fundamental Rights and Fundamental Duties?

Lastly, we hope you liked our blog and gained an understanding of Who Elects the Members of Rajya Sabha. Moreover, you may even read more blogs and empower yourself with knowledge regarding Civics and Polity! 

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *