What is the State Legislative Assembly in India? 

3 minute read
What is State Legislative Assembly in India

India’s legislative power is divided between the central or Union government and the State governments. The State legislatures have an important part in making laws for their respective States and Union Territories. The State Legislative Assembly is also known as Vidhan Sabha or Saasana Sabha. Moreover, it is the lower house and in some special cases the sole house in some States of the State legislature. Additionally, it is the sole legislative body in 22 States and 3 Union Territories of India. Furthermore, Members of the Legislative Assembly (MLAs) are directly elected by the people of their constituencies. Read on to learn more in detail about the State Legislative Assembly in India, State Legislature in India and how many State Legislative Assemblies are there in India!

What is State Legislature in India? 

Additionally, there are 2 types of State legislatures in India:

  • Unicameral Legislature: It is the most common type and is found in 22 States and 3 Union Territories. Moreover, it has only one house, the State Legislative Assembly. 
  • Bicameral Legislature: 6 states which are Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Telangana, and Uttar Pradesh have a Bicameral legislature with 2 houses:
    • The State Legislative Assembly which is the lower house
    • The State Legislative Council which is the upper house

Also Read: Ordinance Making Power of President and Governor in India

What is the Function of State Legislative Assemblies?

Furthermore, State Legislative Assemblies have a wide range of functions which include:

  • Lawmaking: They pass laws on a variety of subjects listed in the State List of the Indian Constitution, such as education, public health, agriculture, and police.
  • Budget Approval: They approve the State budget hence authorising government spending for different programs and initiatives.
  • Holding the Government Accountable: In addition, they can question the government on its policies and performance. Moreover, they can even pass a No-Confidence Motion to remove the Chief Minister and their Council of Ministers.

Also Read: What is the 7th Schedule of the Indian Constitution?

How many State Legislative Assembly in India?

There are 28 State Legislative Assemblies in India, one for each State and 3 Union Territories. Moreover, the number of MLAs in each Assembly depends on the State’s population, but it cannot exceed 500 or fall below 60. However, there are a few exceptions as is in the case of Sikkim, Mizoram, Goa and Puducherry. 

31 State Legislative Assemblies in India
State Legislature House Strength
Andhra Pradesh175
Arunachal Pradesh60
Delhi 70
Himachal Pradesh68
Jammu and Kashmir 90
Jharkhand 81
Karnataka 224
Madhya Pradesh 230
Sikkim 32
Tamil Nadu234
Telangana 119
Uttar Pradesh403
West Bengal294
31 State Legislative Assemblies in India

Related Blogs

Why Do We Need Two Houses of Parliament?What is Martial Law?
What is the Doctrine of Colourable Legislation?What is the Difference between Martial Law and National Emergency?
What is the Difference between Fundamental Rights and Directive Principles?What is the Difference Between Money Bill and Ordinary Bill?
What is the Difference between Federal and Unitary Government?What is the Difference Between Fundamental Rights and Fundamental Duties?

Lastly, we hope you liked our blog and gained an understanding of the First Woman Chief Minister of Delhi. Moreover, you may even read more blogs and empower yourself with knowledge regarding Civics and Polity! 

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *