What is the Difference Between Chaitra Navratri and Sharad Navratri?

4 minute read
What is the Difference between Chaitra Navratri and Sharad Navratri

Navratri is one of the most beautiful and significant festivals in India. It is observed four times every year, known by the names of Chaitra Navratri, Asadha Navratri, Sharada Navratri, Paush/Magha Navratri. This grand festival lasts for nine days and signifies the victory of dharma over adharma and good over evil. Navratri, which loosely translates to nine nights, worships nine avatars of Goddess Durga, each representing a specific symbolism. In this blog, we will explore the difference between Chaitra Navratri and Sharad Navratri.

What is Sharad Navratri?

Sharad Navratri, also known as Maha Navratri, is one of the most famous Navratri celebrations in India. According to the Vedic calendar, Sharad Navratri is observed in the month of Ashwin during September or October. Moreover, it begins after the completion of Shraddh, a period of remembering our ancestors who passed away a long time ago. 

Sharad Navratri is celebrated during the end of the monsoon season as farmers across the country gear up for a fulfilling harvest season. It holds great significance among devotees across the country. In Assam and Bengal, Sharad Navratri is celebrated as Durga Pooja. Huge pandals are created where devotees from across the country come and seek blessings from the goddess. On the last day, the idol of the goddess Durga is immersed in water to bid farewell.  

Also Read: 10 Interesting Facts About Navratri Students Must Know

Source: Prem Nath Shukla

Why is Sharad Navratri Celebrated?

When it comes to celebrating any festival in India, it is important to remember that there are certain mythologies associated with them. The grand festival of Sharad Navratri celebrates the energy of the divine feminine. It also celebrates the victory of goddess Durga over Mahishasura, a buffalo demon. 

This mythology states that there was once a buffalo demon Mahishasura, who terrorized all gods. Upon hard penance, he received a boon from Lord Brahma, making him undefeatable to any man’s attempt to kill him. Unable to end his havoc, the gods created the goddess Durga, a symbol of feminine power. Goddess Durga fought Mahishasura for nine days and nights, ultimately slaying him to death on the tenth day, known as Vijayadashmi or Dussehra.

In this way, the significance of Sharad Navratri symbolizes the victory of good over evil and light over darkness. During Sharad Navratri, devotees pray nine forms of goddess Durga including Shailputri, Brahmacharini, Chandraghanta, Kushmanda, Skandamata, Katyayani, Kalratri, Mahogany, and Siddhidatri. 

Also Read: 9 Days of Navratri Devi Names 2023, Their Significance and More

What is Chaitra Navratri?

Chaitra Navratri, also known as Vasanta Navratri, falls in the month of March or April. It is observed during the Shukla Paksha of Chaitra. Chaitra Navratri also marks the commencement of the Hindu calendar. Chaitra Navratri is observed for nine days with great enthusiasm across Northern India. In Maharashtra, Chaitra Navratri is celebrated as Gudi Padwa whereas it is observed as Ugadi in Telangana, Karnataka, and Tamil Nadu. In simple words, this Hindu festival marks the welcoming of the spring season in India.

Also Read: Navratri 2023: Date, Godess Names, Colors, Rituals, Significance and More

Why do we Celebrate Chaitra Navratri?

During Chaitra Navratri, devotees across India worship nine incarnations of Goddess Durga, commonly known as Navadurga. Goddess Durga represents the omnipresent cosmic energy across the whole universe. It is believed that fasting during Chaitra Navratri is a way of seeking blessings from Goddess Durga who blesses us with inner strength and fulfils our wishes. Ram Navami, the birthday of Lord Rama, falls on the ninth day of Chaitra Navaratri. This is why the festival is also celebrated as Ram Navaratri. 

Also Read: 9 Days of Navratri Colors 2023, Their Significance and More


Difference Between Chaitra Navratri and Sharad Navratri

Here is an overview of the difference between Chaitra Navratri and Sharad Navratri:

Parameters of comparisonSharad NavratriChaitra Navratri
Observed in September or OctoberApril
Duration Nine daysNine days
Ends withVijayadashmi / DussehraRam Navami
Associated mythology The victory of goddess Durga over Mahishasura, a buffalo demon. It commemorates the creation of Goddess Durga, the divine feminine energy.
Navratri Quotes, Wishes and MessagesNavratri Decoration Ideas for Office
Why Do We Celebrate DussehraNavratri Outfit Ideas to Wear
Special Dusshera Rangoli DesignsCelebrating Navratri with Garba


Which Navratri is more important?

Although Navratri is celebrated four times a year, Sharad Navratri which is observed during the Ashvin month is considered the most important one.

What is the meaning of Sharad Navratri?

Sharad Navratri or the Maha Navratri is observed during the lunar month of Ashvin. It begins Shraddh, a period during which netizens remember their ancestors who passed away a long time ago. 

What are the 4 types of Navratri?

The four types of Navratri are Shardiya Navratri, Chaitra Navratri, Magha Gupt Navratri, and Asadha Gupt Navratri.

We hope you had fun reading the difference between Chaitra Navratri and Sharad Navratri. For more information about such informative articles, check the trending events page of Leverage Edu.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *