One Day International – Forms of Cricket

3 minute read
One Day International

Cricket, a sporting event, is played in three different formats: Test Matches, One Day International and Twenty20. One Day International, abbreviated as ODI, each team is allowed to bowl and bat for a maximum of 50 overs. The team that scores the highest number of runs at the end of the allotted overs wins the match. The first One Day International (ODI) cricket was played between Australia and England in 1971 in Melbourne, Australia. Since then ODI has become an integral part of both international and domestic cricket. If you are curious to know more about ODI Cricket, read this article.

Must Read: Engineer’s Day 2023: Theme

How ODI is Different from Other Forms of Cricket?

As mentioned above, Cricket has three different forms; ODI, Test matches and Twenty20 Inninings. Back in 1877, the first official cricket match was played in the test format. Modern Test cricket lasts for 5 days straight where each team is allowed to play for two innings. Cricket Hall of Famers considers Test cricket as the pinnacle format because it tests all player’s skills for a longer period of time.

The lowest, shortest and fastest form of Cricket is Twenty20 which was started in 2007. The first Twenty20 match was conducted in South Africa, where the ICC T20 World Cup started. A lot of countries have their own domestic T20 cricket series, like the Indian Premier League (IPL), the Big Bash League (BBL), etc.

The One Day International is different from all other forms of cricket as it tests both team’s endurance, the will to bat longer, temperament and technique in different conditions. The ICC Cricket WorldCup is the premier ODI tournament which is conducted by the International Cricket Council (ICC) every four years.

In India, the Board of Control for Cricket in India, BCCI is the national cricket governing body, which is responsible for all forms of domestic and international matches in India.

ODI Cricket World Cup

The ODI Cricket World Cup is conducted every four years under the direct authority of the International Cricket Council (ICC). The next ODI World Cup kick off on 5th October 2023 in India, where all the teams will be divided into different groups. As of now, there are 12 teams that are official members of the ICC meaning they can play in all the Cricket formats. This series of competitions will include a total of 48 matches. The tournament will last for 46 days and will be held in 10 cities in India, starting from Ahmedabad.

Must Read: Regional Festivals in India


What are the three forms of cricket?

The three forms of Cricket are Test Cricket, One Day International (ODI) and Twenty20 Innings.

When did India won the Cricket World Cup?

India has lifted the ICC Cricket World Cup trophy two times, one in 1983 and the other in 2011.

Is Cricket part of the Olympics?

Cricket is not part of the Olympics as this sport is not extensively played in all the regions of the world.

For more information about such interesting topics, visit the trending events pages of Leverage Edu.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *