🪔Diwali 2023: All You Need to Know About 5 Days of Diwali Festival

3 minute read
5 Days of Diwali

The 5 Days of Diwali are Dhanteras, Naraka Chaturdashi, Lakshmi Puja, Govardhan Puja, and Bhai Dooj. Diwali is a grand Indian Festival that holds significant importance in Indian mythology. All 5 Days of Diwali are special occasions for worshipping Goddess Laxmi and Lord Ganesha and the return of Lord Rama to Ayodhya after 14 years of exile. There are 5 Days of Diwali that are celebrated with great pomp and enthusiasm in the entire country. If you do not know about the 5 Diwali Days then this article will provide you insights about the dates and names of the 5 days along with how these festivals are celebrated. Stay tuned and continue reading to learn more about the Diwali Festival!

Also Read: Diwali Decoration Items

List of 5 Days of Enlightening Diwali Festival

Diwali celebrations are marked with a 5-day festival. On these 5 days, people express their happiness by spreading joy and distributing sweets and gifts to the family and friends.

Here is the list of 5 days of Diwali:

Dhanteras10 November 2023FridayTrayodashi
Naraka Chaturdasi (Choti Diwali)11 November 2023SaturdayChaturdashi
Diwali (Laxmi Pujan)12 November 2023SundayAmavasya
Govardhan Puja13 November 2023MondayPratipada
Bhai Dooj14 November 2023TuesdayDwitiya

Also Read: List of Festivals in November in India 

First Day of Diwali – Dhanteras

The first day of Diwali is the Dhanteras. Dhan means wealth and Teras means the 13th day of the lunar fortnight. This festival is celebrated to worship Lord Kubera also known as the God of wealth. Dhanteras is considered an auspicious day to buy gold or make an investment for the future.

Source: MagicBricks

Second Day of Diwali – Naraka Chaturdasi/ Choti Diwali

Choti Diwali will be celebrated on 11 November 2023. On this day, people clean their house and decorate it with flowers, and lights. Light diyas in the house to mark the beginning of the main event. 

Choti Diwali
Source: NaiDunia

Third-Day of Diwali Laxmi Pujan

Laxmi Puja or Diwali is celebrated in the Kartik month. On this day idol Goddess Laxmi is worshipped. This year the Laxmi Pujan Mahurat will last for almost 2 hours. The best time for Laxmi Pujan is 5:39 PM to 7:35 PM on 12 November 2023. Diwali is the biggest Indian festival marked with lights, sweets, and happiness all around.  People burst firecrackers and visit their relatives for blessings.

Laxmi Pujan (Diwali)
Source: Naidunia

Fourth Day of Diwali – Govardhan Puja

Govardhan Puja is marked with worshipping the Govardhan Parvat. This festival is also known as Annakut or Annakoot. On this auspicious day, devotees prepare vegetarian food for Lord Krishna as a token of gratitude because he saved the residents of Mathura Vrindavan from the harsh weather conditions created by Lord Indra due to his anger. Lord Krishna took the Govardhan Parvat on his little finger and saved the devotees.

Govardhan Puja
Source: HerZindagi

Fifth Day of Diwali – Bhai Dooj

Bhai Dooj is celebrated on the second day following Diwali. On this day sisters do Tilak and pray for the long life of their brothers.

Bhai Dooj
Source: Dainik Bhaskar

Relevant Blogs

Diwali Gift Ideas for EmployeesLaxmi Pujan Diwali
Vijayadashami: The Triumph of Good Over EvilDussehra Mela
Bathukamma Holidays 2023Bathukamma Festival
9 days of Navratri Devi NamesNavratri Festival
Diwali Dress IdeasEssay on Durga Puja


Which of the 5 days of the Diwali festival is Laxmi Puja?

Out of the 5 days of Diwali festival, Laxmi Pujan was held on the second day i.e. on the day of Diwali. On this auspicious day, Goddess Laxmi is believed to visit Earth from heaven and bless her devotees. People do Laxmi Pujan and worship Lord Ganesha and Lord Kubera on Diwali. In some regions, Diwali celebrations begin with Govatsa Dwadashi i.e. a day before Dhanteras thereby celebrating Laxmi Pujan on the third day instead of the second day.

What are the 5 days of Diwali in Andhra Pradesh?

The 5 days of Diwali in Andhra Pradesh and nearby regions are Dhanteras, Choti Diwali, Diwali (Laxmi Puja), Goverdhan Puja, and Bhai Dooj.

What are the 5 days of Diwali in 2023?

Here are the 5 days of Diwali in 2023:
Dhanteras (Trayodashi) – 10 November 2023
Choti Diwali (Chaturdashi)-11 November 2023
Diwali/Laxmi Puja (Amavasya)- 12 November 2023
Govardhan Puja (Pratipada)- 13 November 2023
Bhai Dooj (Dwitiya)- 14 November 2023

We hope this article has provided you with all the relevant information on this topic. For more related articles, you can read various Trending Events at Leverage Edu.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *