Who are the Swaran Singh Committee Members?

2 minute read
Who are the Swaran Singh Committee Members

The 12 members of the Swaran Singh Committee are Sardar Swaran Singh as the Chairman, Narhar Vishnu Gadgil, Siddhartha Shankar Ray, B. N. Banerjee, D. P. Singh, Dinesh Goswami, Chembakassery Mathai Stephen, Rajni Patel, H. R. Gokhale, VA Sayed Muhammed, Vasant Purushottam Sathe and Abdul Rahman Antulay. Furthermore, in 1976, the Congress Party set up the Swaran Singh Committee with these members to make recommendations about Fundamental Duties. Moreover, the necessity of Duties was felt during the Emergency(1975 to 1977). Read on to know the Fundamental Duties the Swaran Singh Committee recommended.   

How many Fundamental Duties Did the Swaran Singh Committee Recommend?

The Swaran Singh Committee’s recommendation for a separate chapter for the Fundamental Duties was taken into consideration. Additionally, through the 42nd Amendment Act of 1976, it is now in Part IVA Article 51A of the Indian Constitution. Moreover, the 42nd Amendment had ten Duties added but the Swaran Singh Committee recommended 8 Fundamental Duties. 

Also Read: The Directive Principles of State Policy

What were the Fundamental Duties added?

In addition, here are the ten Fundamental Duties that were added to the Constitution through the 42nd Amendment Act of 1976 on the recommendation of the Swaran Singh Committee:

  1. to abide by the Constitution and respect its ideals and institutions, the National Flag and the National Anthem
  2. to cherish and follow the noble ideals which inspired our national struggle for freedom
  3. to uphold and protect the sovereignty, unity and integrity of India
  4. to defend the country and render national service when called upon to do so
  5. to promote harmony and the spirit of common brotherhood amongst all the people of India transcending religious, linguistic and regional or sectional diversities; to renounce practices derogatory to the dignity of women
  6. to value and preserve the rich heritage of our composite culture
  7. to protect and improve the natural environment including forests, lakes, rivers and wild life, and to have compassion for living creatures
  8. to develop the scientific temper, humanism and the spirit of inquiry and reform
  9. to safeguard public property and to abjure violence
  10. to strive towards excellence in all spheres of individual and collective activity so that the nation constantly rises to higher levels of endeavour and achievement. 

Related Blogs

How Many Schedules are there in the Indian Constitution?What is the 9th Schedule of the Indian Constitution? 
How many Parts are there in the Indian Constitution?What is Dearness Allowance?

I hope this blog answers your query on Who are the Swaran Singh Committee Members. Moreover, you may even read more blogs and empower yourself with knowledge regarding Civics and Polity!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *