What is State Legislative Council?

2 minute read
What is State Legislative Council in India; Lucknow Vidhan Sabha

State Legislative Assembly is also known as Vidhan Parishad. India follows a system with two Houses of legislation at the Parliament and State level as well, called Bicameral legislature. At the State level, it is further divided into Vidhan Sabha (Legislative Assembly) and Vidhan Parishad (Legislative Council). Additionally, members of the Legislative Assembly are directly elected by the people in the assembly election. Moreover, the Legislative Council is formed or abolished by the Legislative Assembly. Read on to learn more about the State Legislative Council, its functions and the list of States that have a State Legislative Council! 

What are the Functions of the Council?

Furthermore, the Functions of the Council or Vidhan Parishad are as follows:

  • Make laws for issues and problems. 
  • The appropriations bill’s passage also does not involve the Legislative Council.
  • The Legislative Council’s Chairman and Deputy Chairman hold the same role as the State’s Cabinet Ministers.

However, there are several grounds for criticism of the Council.

Three main authorities are given to the Legislative Council: 

  • Legislative control
  • Budgetary control
  • Executive control

Therefore, with few powers, the State Legislature’s Council is a comparatively weak House.

Also Read: What is the Full Form of MLA?

How Many States have a Legislative Council?

Out of 28 states in the Indian territory, there are six states that have their Councils which are the following: 

  • Andhra Pradesh
  • Bihar
  • Karnataka
  • Maharashtra
  • Telangana
  • Uttar Pradesh.

Also Read: Ordinance Making Power of President and Governor in India

Difference Between the Legislative Assembly and Legislative Council

Furthermore, here is the difference between the Legislative Assembly and the Legislative Council: 

Legislative AssemblyLegislative Council
Lower HouseUpper House
Direct ElectionsIndirect Elections
5 Years Term4 Years Term
Speaker- Presiding officer of the Legislative AssemblyChairman- Presiding officer of the Legislative Council
Minimum Age- 25 years oldMinimum Age- 25 years old 

Also Read: Why Do We Need Two Houses of Parliament?

Related Blogs

The Indian Councils Act of 1909: Morley-Minto ReformsWhat Were Morley-Minto Reforms?
The Important Acts in India For Competitive ExamsImportant Articles in Indian Constitution Explained
What was the Charter Act of 1853?Functions and Responsibilities of the State

This is everything about the State Legislative Council and how many States have state legislative councils in India. For more content related to the different states of India, visit our Civics and Polity archives. 

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *