How many Finance Commissions are there in India?

2 minute read
How many Finance Commissions are there in India

There are 16 Finance Commissions in India till now. The Indian Constitution gives importance to a fair distribution of financial resources between the Central government and the States. Furthermore, to achieve this, the concept of Finance Commissions was established on the 22nd of November, 1951. Additionally, these ad-hoc bodies have an important part in India’s fiscal federalism. The First Commission was established in 1951. Moreover, the formation of commissions are at an interval of 5 years, or earlier if necessary. Read on to learn more about the 16 Finance Commissions in India!

List of the 16 Finance Commissions in India till now

Furthermore, here is a list of the 16 Finance Commissions in India till now: 

16 Finance Commissions in India till now
Finance CommissionYear Established Years OperationalChairman of the Commission
First Commission19511952-1957Kshitish Chandra Neogy
Second Commission19561957-1962Kasturiranga Santhanam
Third Commission19601962-1966A. K. Chanda
Fourth Commission19641966-1969Pakala Venkataramana Rao Rajamannar
Fifth Commission19681969-1974Mahavir Tyagi
Sixth Commission19721974-1979Kasu Brahmananda Reddy 
Seventh Commission19771979-1984J. M. Shelat
Eighth Commission19831984-1989Yashwantrao Balwantrao Chavan
Ninth Commission19871989-1995Narendra Kumar Prasadrao Salve
Tenth Commission19921995-2000Krishna Chandra Pant 
Eleventh Commission19982000-2005Dr. Syed Ali Mohammad Hussain 
Twelfth Commission20022005-2010Chakravarthi Rangarajan
Thirteenth Commission20072010-2015Vijay L. Kelkar
Fourteenth Commission20132015-2020Yaga Venugopal Reddy
Fifteenth Commission20172020-2025Nand Kishore Singh
Sixteenth Commission20232026-2031Arvind Panagariya
16 Finance Commissions in India till now

Related Blogs

Why Do We Need Two Houses of Parliament?What is Martial Law?
What is the Doctrine of Colourable Legislation?What is the Difference between Martial Law and National Emergency?
What is the Difference between Fundamental Rights and Directive Principles?What is the Difference Between Money Bill and Ordinary Bill?
What is the Difference between Federal and Unitary Government?What is the Difference Between Fundamental Rights and Fundamental Duties?

Lastly, we hope you liked our blog and gained an understanding of the How many Finance Commission in India. Moreover, you may even read more blogs and empower yourself with knowledge regarding Civics and Polity! 

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *