Study Abroad: UOW and Charlemagne Prize Academy Partners for Research Residency

2 minute read
study abroad
study abroad

The University of Wollongong (UOW) has announced a new partnership with the Charlemagne Prize Academy. This collaboration will allow early career researchers from Europe to undertake a 12-month research residency at an Australian university. The scholarship is open to PhD candidates, early career researchers, professionals, and faculty members from across Europe. So, it is for those scholars who have demonstrated exceptional academic achievement and shown a commitment to promoting European values.


Benefits of this Partnership

UOW will host the Successful Charlemagne Prize Scholars. These scholars will have the opportunity to participate in research projects, attend academic conferences, and also engage with the wider university community. So, the Charlemagne Prize Academy will award them a €25,000 (A$41,000) (INR 22 lakh approx) grant to support their research residency.

study abroad: UOW and Charlemagne Prize Academy
study abroad

Chairman of the Charlemagne Prize Academy, Professor Thomas Prefi, said, “We are happy to establish a strong strategic alliance with the prestigious University of Wollongong.

The University of Wollongong Senior Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Senior Vice-President Professor Alex Frino also shared his views. He said, “We are thrilled to be partnering with the Charlemagne Prize Academy to establish this exciting new opportunity for students.

What is Charlemagne Prize Academy?

The Charlemagne Prize Academy, based in Aachen, Germany, is a unique research funding program that promotes European unity and values. Firstly, it came into existence in 2019 as a project of the Charlemagne Prize Foundation to support innovative and creative research ideas. Moreover, these ideas were from the field of future challenges for Europe. This was done to form a bridge between scientific research, cutting-edge approaches, and policymakers.

The Charlemagne Prize, awarded annually since 1950, is one of Europe’s most prestigious prizes. Moreover, individuals or institutions that have made significant contributions to the cause of European unity get the award. Recent recipients include Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelenskyy, United Nations Secretary-General Antonio Guterres, and French President Emmanuel Macron

For more exciting news updates, make sure you contact Leverage Edu.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *