UNESCO World Heritage Site

2 minute read
UNESCO World Heritage Site

A World Heritage Site is a landmark or an area with legal protection by an international convention which is administered by the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO). World Heritage Sites are designated the UNESCO based on their cultural, scientific and historical importance. 

People are responsible for preserving the human heritage and recognizing the efforts of the organisations that support it. 

In the latest announcement, UNESCO on its Twitter handle announced:

List of UNESCO World Heritage Sites

Here is the list of UNESCO World Heritage Sites which are located all over India. 

Taj MahalAgra Fort
Fatehpur SikriEllora Caves
KhajurahoKaziranga National Park
Manas National ParkElephanta Caves
Ajanta Caves Humanyun’s Tomb
SanchiChhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Terminus
Keoladeo National ParkPattadakal
Group of Monuments at MahabalipuramMahabodhi Temple 
Hill Forts of RajasthanBhimbetka rock shelters

World Heritage Sites: History

This day was established by the International Council on Monuments and Sites (ICOMOS) in 1982. This happened during a seminar in Tunisia and was later approved by the United Nations General Assembly in 1983 at the 22nd session of the UNESCO Conference.

Also Read: Bharat: The Mother of Democracy PDF Download

World Heritage Sites: Significance

All the places included in the World Heritage Sites are those that have an outstanding universal value to humanity. These sites are to be valued for future generations to appreciate and enjoy. Speaking of places outside India places like the Pyramids of Egypt, the Great Barrier Reef in Australia, the Galápagos Islands in Ecuador, the Taj Mahal in India, the Grand Canyon in the USA and the Acropolis in Greece are examples of the 1007 natural and cultural places inscribed on the World Heritage List to date. 


What are World Heritage Sites in India?

Qutab Minar is considered a World Heritage Site in India.

How many sites are there in the World Heritage Site?

There are almost 40 World Heritage Sites located in India. Out of these 32 are cultural, 7 are natural and the rest are mixed types.

This was all about the World Heritage Site. We hope this article provided you with all the relevant information on this topic. For more related articles, you can read various Trending Events at Leverage Edu!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *