When is the G20 Summit 2025?

3 minute read
g20 summit 2025

The G20 Summit 2023 is underway in New Delhi, India and all the leaders from 19 countries and the European Union have gathered together to strengthen their economic, political and diplomatic ties. The G20 Summit 2025 will take place in South Africa, where the goal is to reduce the gender gap in the labour workforce.

According to the latest updates of the G20 Summit 2023, the Indian Prime Minister welcomed G20 leaders at Bharat Mandapam, which is the venue for this world summit. Read more to know about the G20 Summit 2025.

What is G20?

G20 is an organisation of 19 countries and the European Union for economic cooperation among member countries and plays a crucial in shaping and strengthening global architecture. There is no permanent secretariat or staff in the G20. The presidency of the G20 revolves around member nations annually and is selected from a different region. All the 19 countries in the G20 are divided into 5 groups;

  • Group 1 nations include Australia, Canada, the USA and Saudi Arabia.
  • Group 2 nations include India, South Africa, Russia and Turkey.
  • Group 3 nations include Brazil, Argentina and Mexico.
  • group 4 nations include France, Germany, Italy and the UK.
  • Group 5 include China, Japan, Indonesia, and the Republic of Korea.

The 20th member of G20, the European Union is not a member of any of these regional groups.

Source – Twitter

G20 Summit 2025

According to the G20 calendar, the presidency of the G20 Summit 2025 will be given to South Africa. South Africa joined the G20 troika along with India and Brazil. the G20 troika is a group of 3 where the next three G20 Summits will take place; India in 2023, Brazil in 2024 and South Africa in 2025. These G20 troika are emerging economies, which have also worked on forums like BRICS (Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa), IBSA (India, Brazil and South Africa) and BASIC (Brazil, South Africa, India and China).

The G20 Summit 2025 will focus on reducing the gender gap in the labour workforce to 25% by the year 2025. This decision was taken at the 10th G20 Summit which commenced in Antalya, Turkey in 2015. Also, with this decision, the G20 leaders shifted their focus on migration and refugee crisis. With the G20 presidency in 2025, South Africa will seek to strengthen the raise the voice of Global South with multilateral bodies. the South African president said, ‘We must modernize our multilateral institutions, making them fit for the purpose and better equipped to deal with global and cross-generational challenges we face.

Source – Twitter


1. What is the theme of the G20 Summit 2023?

The G20 Summit 2023 theme is ‘Vasudevakutumbhakam’ which means ‘One Earth, One Family, One Future.

Which country will host the G20 Summit 2025?

The G20 Summit 2025 will be hosted by South Africa, where the major focus will be to reduce the gender gap in the labour workforce.

How many countries are there in the G20?

G20, the abbreviation for the Group of 20 consists of a total of 19 countries and the European Union, and are divided among 5 Groups. The first G20 Summit took place in Washington DC, USA in 2008.

This was all about the G20 Summit 2025 and its related aspects. For more such updates, keep following the latest trending events.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *