What Is The Capital City Of Telangana?

4 minute read
what is the capital city of telangana

The capital city of Telangana is Hyderabad. Hyderabad was also the temporary capital of Andhra Pradesh, but with effect from 2nd June 2024, it is no longer the capital city of Andhra Pradesh. We will get to know more about what is the capital of Telangana and why Hyderabad served as a temporary capital further in this blog. Scroll down to get the information.

About Hyderabad – The Capital of Telangana

The name Hyderabad in Sanskrit translates to “The City of Haydar” or “City of Lions”, and is derived from Haydar ‘lion’ and ābād ‘city’, in the honour of Caliph Ali Ibn Abi Talib, also referred to as Haydar due to his fierce lion-like bravery in combat. 

Earlier, the city was named Baghnagar (“city of gardens”) but subsequently adopted the name Hyderabad. The name Hyderabad means “ Lion City” or  “Hayder’s City”. Hyderabad is also called the “City of Pearls”. The city was founded in 1591 by Mohammed Quli Qutub Shah, the fifth sultanate of the Qutub Shahi Dynasty. The overview of Hyderabad is – 

  • According to the 2011 Indian Census, Hyderabad ranks as the fourth most densely populated city in the country.
  • It holds the distinction of being the fifth-largest metropolitan economy in India.
  • Hyderabad was designated as the capital of the newly established state of Andhra Pradesh following the enactment of the States Reorganisation Act of 1956.
  • Charminar stands as a widely recognized emblem of Hyderabad.
  • The city has been recognized as a UNESCO creative city of gastronomy due to its renowned culinary offerings.
  • Hyderabad serves as a central hub for the pharmaceutical, biotechnology, and information technology sectors.
  • It is a key destination for financial services, educational establishments, manufacturing facilities, and research centres.
  • Hyderabad is also a key player in the defence sector.
  • The city is the home to several key departments of the Bharat Dynamics Limited (BDL), Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) also including Research Centre Imarat (RCI).
  • Hyderabad is also the base for Nuclear Fuel Complex, Hindustan Aeronautics Limited (HAL) and numerous other entities under the Indian government.

Why Hyderabad Was The Common Capital of Telangana and Andhra Pradesh?

As of June 2nd, Hyderabad’s role as a joint capital for Telangana and Andhra Pradesh has officially ended as per the Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Act, 2014. This change comes ten years after the state of Telangana was carved out of Andhra Pradesh in 2014.

This all started in 2014 when Telangana was established on June 2, 2014. Back then, they agreed to share Hyderabad for a decade to make things smoother. Hence, from June 2 onwards, Hyderabad will serve as the sole capital city of Telangana.

The creation of Telangana marked the realization of a long-standing demand for statehood, which was achieved on June 2, 2014, after the AP Reorganisation bill was passed in Parliament in February 2014. And regarding Hyderabad, it stated – 

“On and from the appointed day (June 2), Hyderabad in the existing State of Andhra Pradesh, shall be the common capital of the state of Telangana and the state of Andhra Pradesh for such period not exceeding ten years,” said the AP Reorganisation Act.

“After the expiry of the period referred to in subsection (1), Hyderabad shall be the capital of the State of Telangana and there shall be a new capital for the State of Andhra Pradesh,” it added.

However, even after a decade apart, unresolved matters like the division of property remain a point of contention between Andhra Pradesh and Telangana. And Andhra Pradesh has declared the city of Amravati as the capital of Andhra Pradesh now.

Also Read – Facts About Kerala – The State of Backwaters and Coconut Trees

Interesting Facts about Hyderabad

Some of the interesting facts about Hyderabad are – 

  • Hyderabad was once nicknamed the “City of Pearls” due to its historic role as a major centre for the pearl trade. It is also known as the “City of Nizams”.
  • The world’s most famous diamond, the Koh-i-Noor, was originally mined in the Golconda region near Hyderabad.
  • Hyderabad is a haven for Biryani lovers, offering this iconic layered rice dish in a variety of styles and flavours.
  • Boasting Ramoji Film City, Hyderabad holds the title of the world’s largest film studio complex.
  • Charminar is an iconic 16th-century mosque with four minarets is a symbol of Hyderabad and a stunning example of Qutb Shahi architecture. 
  • Covered with over 20 lakes, Hyderabad offers a refreshing escape and scenic beauty within the city.
  • The famous Irani chai is a unique tea experience with a strong milky flavour and a speciality of Hyderabad.
  • Hyderabad’s booming IT sector has earned it the nickname “Cyberabad,” showcasing its transformation into a major technological hub.
  • The monolithic Buddha statue near Hussain Sagar Lake of Hyderabad is the tallest monolithic Buddha statue in the world


Which state is Telangana in?

On the day it came into existence, i.e. June 2, is the day Telangana was established, and 2024  celebrates a decade since it became the youngest state in India, being split from Andhra Pradesh.

What is the capital of Andhra Pradesh?

The new capital of Andhra Pradesh after 2nd June 2024 is the city of Amravati.

What is the old name of Telangana?

The term “Telinga” evolved into “Telangana,” and the name “Telangana” was chosen to set it apart from the area mainly speaking Telugu, which was part of the former Hyderabad State, from the area mainly speaking Marathi, known as Marathwada.

Relevant Blogs

20 Amazing Facts About Life You Did Not Know!Mehrangarh Fort History
Kumbhalgarh Fort History13 Interesting Facts About Indian Culture
Jaisalmer Fort HistoryGolconda Fort History
27 Unknown Facts about the English LanguageHarihar Fort History
Bhangarh Fort HistoryRed Fort History

That is all about what is the capital city of Telangana! If you want to know more about topics like this, then visit our general knowledge page! 

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *