What is the Full Form of NDA?

2 minute read

NDA Full Form is  National Democratic Alliance. The NDA is a coalition of political parties in India. It came into being in 1998. The BJP (Bhartiya Janata Party) is the party in charge of the NDA. Between 1998 through 2004, the first time this alliance held office. 

The first chairman was the prime minister, Atal Bihari Vajpayee. L. K. Advani, a former deputy prime minister, took over the chairmanship in 2004 and served in that capacity until 2014. Since then, Amit Shah has held the position. In power from 1998 until 2004, the coalition. With a combined vote percentage of 38.5% in the general elections of 2014, the alliance took back power. Its leader, Narendra Modi, took his oath of duty as India’s prime minister on May 26, 2014. In the 2019 general election, the coalition added more seats, bringing the overall number to 353 MPs with a collective vote percentage of 45.43%.

Also Read: What is the full form of UPA?

Structure of NDA

A formal governance structure for the National Democratic Alliance does not exist, such as a politburo or executive board. Making choices on issues like the distribution of seats in elections, the assignment of ministries, and the topics brought up in Parliament has historically been left to the discretion of the individual party leaders. There have been several instances of dispute and split voting among the allies due to the different beliefs held by the parties.

George Fernandes, the NDA convener till 2008, was relieved of his duties due to illness, and Sharad Yadav, the JD(U) political party’s national president at the time, took over in his place. Sharad Yadav resigned from his position as NDA convener on June 16, 2013, the same day the JD(U) exited the coalition. N. Chandrababu Naidu, the chief minister of Andhra Pradesh, was then named the NDA convener. After the TDP left the NDA later in 2018, the convenor position became vacant. To better coordinate the allies, NDA allies like LJP urged the nomination of a convenor in 2019.

The BJP and JD(U) collaborated to create the Bihar government on July 27, 2017. After 4 years, JD(U) formally re-joined the NDA on August 19, 2017.

Also Read: What is the full form of INDIA?

List of NDA partners

Given below is the list of the NDA Partners:

  • BJP (Bhartiya Janata Party)
  • Republican Party of India (Athawale)
  • Lok Janshakti Party
  • Apna Dal
  • Balasahebanchi Shiv Sena
  • Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party
  • Pattali Makkal Katchi
  • National People’s Party
  • Mizo National Front
  • Sikkim Krantikari Morcha
  • Asom Gana Parishad
  • United People’s Party Liberal
  • All Jharkhand Students Union

This was all about the NDA Full form. Visit our Full Form Page to discover more intriguing articles about full forms. You can also get a consolidated list of 300+ full forms here! Get in touch with the experts at Leverage Edu in order to kickstart your study abroad journey!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *