What is the full form of UPA?

2 minute read
upa full form

The full form of UPA is United Progressive Alliance. It is an alliance of political parties in India formed after the 2004 general election. Sonia Gandhi of the Indian National Congress (INC), the most influential party in India, is the chairperson of the UPA.

The UPA eventually governed India from 2004 to 2014. UPA lost the power to its main rivals, National Democratic Alliance (NDA) led by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). However, UPA still governs six states of India; Bihar, and Chhattisgarh. Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Rajasthan, and Tamil Nadu.

How was UPA formed?

Soon after the 2004 Lok Sabha Elections, the United Progressive Alliance was formed. It won 218 out of 544 seats defeating the then-ruling party NDA led by BJP.

Timeline of the UPA

  • 2004: UPA was formed
  • 2014: UPA governed India till 2014
  • 2014: UPA lost in the 2014 general election
  • 2014:UPA lost the state election in eight states; Telangana, Odisha, Sikkim, Jammu and Kashmir, Jharkhand, Andhra Pradesh, Maharashtra, and Haryana.
  • 2014: UPA won 1 state election in Arunachal Pradesh
  • 2015: UPA lost elections in Delhi
  • 2016: UPA won state elections in Puducherry
  • 2016: UPA lost state elections in four states; Tamil Nadu, West Bengal, Assam, and Kerala
  • 2017: UPA won the state election in Punjab
  • 2017: UPA lost state elections in five states; Uttar Pradesh, Manipur, Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand, and Gujarat.
  • 2017: UPA lost the presidential election to NDA’s Ram Nath Kovind (former president of India)
  • 2018: UPA formed a sub-alliance called “Maha Kutami” with TDP, TJS, and CPI for the Telangana election 
  • 2018: The alliance lost and ended after the election
  • 2019: UPA lost in the 2019 Indian general election to NDA
  • 2019; UPA lost state elections in five states; Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Odisha, Sikkim, and Haryana.
  • 2019: UPA won the state election in Jharkhand
  • 2020: UPA lost power in Madhya Pradesh due to a crisis 
  • 2020: The by-polls gave a majority to NDA 
  • 2021: Three MLAs resigned from UPA in Puducherry
  • 2022: UPA lost the election in six states;  Punjab, Gujarat, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh, Goa, and Manipur.
  • 2022: UPA won the state election in Himachal Pradesh
  • 2023: UPA lost state elections in three states;  Meghalaya, Nagaland, and Tripura

Present UPA Members

  • Indian National Congress
  • Rashtriya Lok Dal
  • Revolutionary Socialist Party
  • Indian Union Muslim League
  • United Janata Dal
  • Kerala Congress
  • Rashtriya Janata Dal
  • Peace Party of India
  • Socialist Janata
  • Socialist Janata
  • Mahan Dal

Chief ministers from UPA

BiharNitish Kumar
ChhattisgarhBhupesh Baghel
Himachal PradeshSukhvinder Singh Sukhu
JharkhandHemant Soren
RajasthanAshok Gehlot
Tamil NaduM. K. Stalin

You may also read:

How to Become a Politician?: Education, Career, Courses

How to Make a Sure-Shot Career in Political Science

Hope this blog helped you understand the full form of UPA. To keep yourself updated with such useful information, please visit our page now!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *