National Investigation Agency: Mission, Offices, Jurisdiction

2 minute read
National Investigation Agency

The National Investigation Agency or NIA is the apex counter-terrorism law enforcement organisation of India. It was established in 2008 following the 2008 Mumbai terror attack. It is entitled to investigate terror incidences all across India. To do so, NIA does not require any approval from states. In its attempt to neutralise terror activities in India, NIA employs state-of-the-art technologies and methodologies. All its investigations are conducted under the supervision of the NIA’s head- Director General. The Director General is an Indian Police Service (IPS) officer. 

Also Read: Which is the Highest Police Rank in India?

Mission of NIA

There are several stated missions of the National Investigation Agency, which are as follows:

  • Employ the most current scientific techniques to investigate planned criminal acts.
  • Also, ensure a swift and efficient trial process.
  • Another mission is to develop into a goal-oriented and skilled institution that upholds the Indian Constitution, respects the law, and values human rights and dignity.
  • Cultivate a capable workforce through regular training and exposure to best practices.
  • Exhibit a scientific mindset and a commitment to progress while fulfilling their responsibilities.
  • Integrate cutting-edge technology and modern approaches into the operations of the NIA.
  • Foster positive relationships with both central and state governments, along with other law enforcement agencies in India.
  • In addition, it assists states and other organisations in examining cases connected to acts of terrorism.
  • Establish and share a comprehensive database of terrorist-related information with states and other relevant bodies.
  • Evaluate and periodically update India’s terrorism-related laws, recommending necessary modifications.
  • Gain the trust of citizens through fearless jobs.

Also Read: What is the Full Form of CBI?

Regional Offices of National Investigation Agency

NIA is headquartered in Delhi with 8 regional offices across India. Here are the locations of all regional offices:

  • Jammu
  • Lucknow
  • Raipur
  • Kolkata
  • Guwahati
  • Mumbai
  • Hyderabad
  • Kochi

Also Read: Unbeatable Stories of Women IPS Officers in India

Jurisdiction of NIA

The agency possesses full authority and rights to carry out inquiries according to the acts outlined in the Schedule of the National Investigation Agency Act. Further, State government officials have the option to seek NIA investigations, subject to Central government endorsement, within the legal confines stated in the NIA Act. Furthermore, the central government is authorised to assign cases for NIA investigation across India, and the personnel responsible for managing these cases come from the IPS and IRS ranks.

Also Read: How to Prepare for UPSC?


#1. When was National Investigation Agency formed?

#2. Under which Ministry does NIA fall?

#3. Who qualifies to become the head of NIA?


Stay tuned with Wings by Leverage Edu to learn more about civics and polity and General Knowledge for competitive exams

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *



25,000+ students realised their study abroad dream with us. Take the first step today.
Talk to an expert