Who Won The Battle Of Plassey?

2 minute read
Who Won The Battle Of Plassey

The Battle of Plassey took place during the great upheaval period in India. It was fought on June 23, 1757, between the forces of the British East India Company and the Nawab of Bengal, Siraj-ud-Daulah. It resulted in a decisive victory for a side that ruled India for decades and changed the chapters of history in India. But exactly who won the Battle of Plassey? Let’s delve into the details and find out.

The British Forces Vs Nawab of Bengal

In the end, it was the British East India Company that emerged victorious in the Battle of Plassey. Despite being significantly outnumbered, Robert Clive employed clever tactics and strategies to secure a decisive victory over Siraj-ud-Daulah’s forces. The British forces managed to capture Siraj-ud-Daulah and effectively established their dominance in Bengal.

Factors Leading to British Victory

There were several key factors that contributed to the British victory in the Battle of Plassey:

  • Betrayal: One of the main reasons for the British victory was the betrayal of Siraj-ud-Daulah by one of his own generals, Mir Jafar. Mir Jafar, along with other disloyal commanders, conspired with the British to overthrow Siraj-ud-Daulah.
  • Superior Military Tactics: The British forces, under the leadership of Robert Clive, utilized superior military tactics and strategies to outmanoeuvre the larger army of Siraj-ud-Daulah.
  • Allied Forces: The British were also able to secure the support of other Indian rulers who were opposed to Siraj-ud-Daulah’s rule. This alliance provided the British with additional troops and resources, further tipping the scales in their favour.

Also Read – Battle of Saraighat: A Story of Bravery

Aftermath of the Battle

The defeat of Siraj-ud-Daulah in the Battle of Plassey had far-reaching consequences for the Indian subcontinent. The British East India Company gained control of Bengal and established its presence in other parts of India. This laid the foundation for British colonial rule in the region, which would last for nearly two centuries.

Non-Cooperation MovementCivil Disobedience Movement in India
Tribal Movement in IndiaSalt Satyagraha Movement
Bardoli SatyagrahaChamparan Satyagraha
Kheda SatyagrahaQuit India Movement

This blog was all about who won the Battle of Plassey. If you want to read more articles like this, you can get Short notes on the Modern History of India here. Also, you can visit our general knowledge page on Indian History!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *