Who Led the Revolt of 1857 in Kanpur?

3 minute read
Who Led the Revolt of 1857 in Kanpur

The Revolt of 1857 is considered the very beginning of the independence movement against the colonial rule of the British and there are some names for the same, such as India’s First War of Independence, Sepoy Mutiny, etc. On May 10, 1857, the revolt began in Meerut as a sepoy mutiny and was started by sepoys of the Bengal Presidency.

Where were the centres of the Revolt?

The major centers of the revolt of 1857 were as follows:

  • Lucknow
  • Kanpur
  • Jhansi
  • Gwalior
  • Bihar

Also read: Who was the First Governor General of India?

Who Led The Revolt In Kanpur?

The revolt of 1857 in Kanpur was led by  Nana Saheb, along with his administrator Tantia Tope and secretary Azimullah Khan. Nana Saheb was the adopted child of Peshwa Baji Rao the Second, and he joined the struggle. He was denied honours on the ground because he was not considered the natural heir of Peshwa Baji Rao.

Moreover, many of the Englishmen during the revolt were captured by an angry mob. Ultimately, the British defeated Nana Saheb in the year 1857, due to which Nana Saheb had to flee to Nepal, where it is hypothetically said he took his last breaths and his administrator and general Tantia Tope moved to Kalpi. Tantia Tope was also one of the commanders in the Indian Rebillion of 1857 at Kanpur, along with Nana Saheb, and had to flee on July 16th, 1857 because of the British Army.


1. Who led the revolt in Kanpur during the Revolt of 1857?

 The revolt in Kanpur during the Revolt of 1857 was led by Nana Saheb, along with his administrator Tantia Tope and secretary Azimullah Khan. Nana Saheb, the adopted son of Peshwa Baji Rao II, played a significant role in the movement against British rule in India.

2. What were the major centers of the Revolt of 1857?

 The major centers of the Revolt of 1857 included Lucknow, Kanpur, Jhansi, Gwalior, and Bihar. These regions witnessed significant resistance against British colonial rule during the uprising, also known as India’s First War of Independence or the Sepoy Mutiny.

3. What happened to Nana Saheb and Tantia Tope after the British defeated them in 1857?

After facing defeat at the hands of the British in 1857, Nana Saheb fled to Nepal, where it is believed he spent his final days. Tantia Tope, another leader of the revolt in Kanpur, moved to Kalpi but had to flee further due to the advancing British forces.

Related Blogs

Who Chaired The First Round Table Conference?When Was The First Round Table Conference Held?
Third Round Table Conference 1932What are the Ancient Indian Languages?
Peasant Movements in IndiaThird Round Table Conference Was Held In Which Year?
The First Round Table Conference, 1930-32Second Round Table Conference Was held In

This is all about who led the revolt of 1857 in Kanpur. For more content related to the different states of India, visit our articles like this, you can get Study notes on the Modern History of India here. Also, you can visit our general knowledge page on Indian History!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *