Who Was The First President Of Indian National Congress?

2 minute read
first president of the Indian National Congress

The Indian National Congress commonly known as the Congress Party was founded in 1885. The main aim of the establishment of INC was to advocate for Indian independence from the British administration. As the oldest and most influential political party in India, the INC played at the forefront of the country’s freedom struggle. INC was founded by A.O Hume along with Dadabhai Naoroji and Dinshaw Wacha. On 28th December 1885, the first session of INC was held in Bombay where Womesh Chandra Bonnerjee became the first president of the Indian National Congress. If you are interested in knowing more about this organization and the first president of the Indian National Congress, scroll further down. 

Womesh Chandra Bonnerjee And His Contribution

Womesh Chandra Bonnerjee was an Indian barrister and one of the founding members of the Indian National Congress. He was born on 29th December 1844, in Calcutta British India. His deep sense of patriotism propelled him to actively participate in India’s struggle for Independence. 

  • His role as President of INC was to outline the objectives of the INC, which also included promoting national sentiments, striving for self-governance and advocating for civil rights.
  • As the first president of INC, Bonnerjee emphasized the importance of unity and inclusivity within the party for achieving the common goal of Independence. 
  • He laid the platform for various Indian leaders from different regions and backgrounds to come together and raise their concerns through the party.
  • Bonnerjee championed the cause of social and political reforms and the need for greater representation of Indians in the governance of the country. 
Credits – Indian National Congress

Womesh Chandra Bannerjee was again elected as the President in the year 1892 in the Allahabad session. Other subsequent names who later went on to become the Presidents of INC are – Gopal Krishna Gokhale, Rashbehari Bose, Annie Besant, Motilal Nehru, Lala Lajpat Rai, etc.

Development of Railways in IndiaWho is The First Woman President of India?
Who is the First Woman Chief Minister in India?Who Is The Father Of Akbar?
First Indian Woman to Go to SpaceWho is the Longest Serving Prime Minister of India?
Who was the First Bharat Ratna Award Winner?Civil Disobedience Movement in India
Who was the First Indian to Step on the Moon?20+ Greatest Indian Freedom Fighters and their Sacrifices

This is all about the first president of the Indian National Congress. For more content related to the different states of India, visit our articles like this, you can get Study notes on the Modern History of India here. Also, you can visit our general knowledge page on Indian History!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *