How Many Times Has The No-Confidence Motion Been Passed in India?

2 minute read
How Many Times No Confidence Motion Passed in India

There have been 28 No Confidence Motions against the Government in India and none of them have been passed. However, there has been one instance wherein before voting the then-PM resigned. In India, a No Confidence Motion is a parliamentary motion where members express a lack of confidence in the current Government, hence potentially leading to its resignation or dissolution if the motion is passed by a majority vote in the Lok Sabha. This blog also states the 28 No Confidence Motions along with the details! 

List of 28 No-Confidence Motions in India

Furthermore, the 28 No Confidence Motions in India are as follows:

List of the 28 No Confidence Motions in India
YearPrime MinisterNo Confidence Motion Moved by
1963Jawaharlal NehruAcharya Kripalani (Congress)
1964Lal Bahadur ShastriNirmal Chandra Chatterjee
1965Lal Bahadur ShastriSurendranath Dwivedy
1965Lal Bahadur ShastriMR Masani (Swatantra Party)
1966Indira GandhiHirendranath Mukherjee (CPI)
1966Indira GandhiUM Trivedi (Bharatiya Jan Sangh)
1967Indira GandhiAtal Bihari Vajpayee (Bharatiya Jan Sangh)
1967Indira GandhiMadhu Limaye
1968Indira GandhiBalraj Madhok
1968Indira GandhiKanwar Lal Gupta (Bharatiya Jana Sangh)
1969Indira GandhiP Ramamurti (CPI-M)
1970Indira GandhiMadhu Limaye
1973Indira GandhiJyotirmoy Basu (CPI-M)
1974Indira GandhiJyotirmoy Basu (CPI-M)
1974Indira GandhiJyotirmoy Basu (CPI-M)
1975Indira GandhiJyotirmoy Basu (CPI-M)
1978Morarji DesaiC M Stephen
1979Morarji DesaiYB Chavan
1981Indira GandhiGeorge Fernandes
1981Indira GandhiSamar Mukherjee (CPI-M)
1982Indira GandhiHN Bahuguna
1987Rajiv GandhiC. Madhava Reddy
1992Pamulaparthi Venkata Narasimha RaoJaswant Singh (BJP)
1992Pamulaparthi Venkata Narasimha RaoAtal Bihari Vajpayee (BJP)
1993Pamulaparthi Venkata Narasimha RaoAjoy Mukhopadhyay
2003Atal Bihari VajpayeeSonia Gandhi (Congress)
2018Narendra ModiSrinivas Kesineni (Telugu Desam Party)
2023Narendra ModiOm Birla (Lok Sabha Speaker)
List of the 28 No Confidence Motions in India

How does No-Confidence Motion Work?

Any member can move the No-Confidence Motion, which, if accepted by the Speaker, is debated. 

  • During the debate, the Government presents its case, followed by opposition members stating reasons for lack of confidence. 
  • The Motion requires a simple majority to pass. 
  • If successful, the Government must resign, hence leading to either the formation of a new government or general elections. 
  • If the motion fails, the Government remains in power, often using the event as a gauge of parliamentary support.

Related Blogs

What is Question Hour in Parliament?Meaning of Zero Hour
What is the Doctrine of Colourable Legislation?What is a Writ of Prohibition?
What is the Difference between Fundamental Rights and Directive Principles?What is the Difference between Fundamental Duties and Directive Principles?
What is Universal Adult Franchise?What is the Difference Between Fundamental Rights and Fundamental Duties?

Lastly, we hope you liked our blog and gained an understanding of How many times No Confidence Motion Passed in India. Moreover, you may even read more blogs and empower yourself with knowledge regarding Civics and Polity! 

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *