16 Powerful Female Chief Ministers in India

2 minute read
Female Chief Ministers in India

The position of the Chief Minister of a State is that of power and execution. Since Independence, there have been only 16 Female Chief Ministers in India. The drastic contrast is due to factors such as gender bias, cultural and historical factors and lack of support for female leaders. Additionally, the first woman Chief Minister was Sucheta Kripalani in Uttar Pradesh from 1963 to 1967 who was also a part of the Constituent Assembly. Furthermore, the current Chief Minister of West Bengal, Mamata Banerjee is the only female CM in in 2024. This blog also includes a detailed list of all the 16 Female Chief Ministers in India! 

The 16 Female Chief Ministers in India 

Additionally, the 16 Female Chief Ministers in India are as follows: 

16 Female Chief Ministers in India 
Name of Female CMState Term in Office as CM
Sucheta Kripalani Uttar Pradesh 3 years and 162 days
Nandini Satpathy Odisha 4 years and 185 days
Shashikala Kakodkar Goa5 years and 258 days 
Anwara Taimur Assam206 days
Vaikom Narayani Janaki Ramachandran Tamil Nadu23 days
Jayaram JayalalithaaTamil Nadu14 years and 124 days
MayawatiUttar Pradesh7 years and 5 days
Rajindra Kaur Bhattal Punjab83 days
Rabri DeviBihar 7 years and 190 days
Sushma Swaraj National Capital Territory of Delhi 52 days
Sheila DikshitNational Capital Territory of Delhi 15 years and 25 days
Uma BhartiMadhya Pradesh 259 days
Vasundhara Raje ScindiaRajasthan 10 years and 9 days
Mamata Banerjee (current)West Bengal14 years and 44 days
Anandiben Mafatbhai PatelGujarat2 years and 77 days
Mehbooba Mufti SayedJammu and Kashmir 2 years and 76 days
16 Female Chief Ministers in India 

Interesting Facts about the Chief Ministers

Here are a few interesting facts about the Female Chief Ministers in India:

  • Sheila Dikshit, a member of the Indian National Congress, holds the record for the longest-serving female CM. Moreover, she led the National Capital Territory of Delhi for over 15 years. 
  • Jayaram Jayalalithaa of the All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam comes next with the second-longest tenure. Additionally, she was the first female Chief Minister to pass away while in office.
    • On the other hand, Vaikom Narayani Janaki Ramachandran of the same state and party had the shortest tenure, serving only 23 days. 
  • Furthermore, out of India’s 28 states and 3 union territories with legislative systems, only 12 states and 1 union territory have had female CMs. 
  • Currently, Mamata Banerjee is the sole female incumbent Chief Minister in India, serving in West Bengal.

Related Blogs

Why Do We Need Two Houses of Parliament?What is Martial Law?
What is the Doctrine of Colourable Legislation?What is the Difference between Martial Law and National Emergency?
What is the Difference between Fundamental Rights and Directive Principles?What is the Difference Between Money Bill and Ordinary Bill?
What is the Difference between a Financial Bill and a Money Bill?What is the Difference Between Fundamental Rights and Fundamental Duties?

Lastly, we hope you liked our blog and gained an understanding of the 16 Female Chief Ministers in India. Moreover, you may even read more blogs and empower yourself with knowledge regarding Civics and Polity! 

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *