Gaganyaan Mission 2023: Who are the Astronauts Selected for Gaganyaan?

2 minute read
who are the astronauts selected for gaganyaan

Gaganyaan mission is India’s most awaited space mission. It is about to launch on 21 October 2023 from Satish Dhawan Space Centre. It was designed by ISRO (Indian Space Research Organization). After the success of the Chandrayaan-3 mission, Hon’ble Prime Minister of India Narendra Modi wanted the Indian Space Organization to think big. He wanted them to launch a manned space vehicle which would bring all the astronauts safely back to Earth. The Gaganyaan mission has many test vehicles to ensure that it will be successful. Explore this blog to learn about who are the astronauts selected for Gaganyaan!

Also Read: Chandrayaan-3 Vikram Lander

Who Are the Astronauts Selected for Gaganyaan?

Gaganyaan is an orbital crew vehicle that will be sent to space in a 400 km orbit with 3 astronauts. The spacecraft is designed to bring back the astronauts safely in the Indian seas. The Indian Space Research Organisation has signed a deal with the Indian Air Force that the IAF will provide them astronauts to go for the Gaganyaan Mission.

Source: WIONews

Out of 60 Indian Air Force pilots, only 4 astronauts were selected for the mission. They are given special training at the Astronaut Training Facility located in Bengaluru.

Here is the list of astronauts selected for the Gaganyaan Mission:

  • Vikas Sharma
  • Prateek Joshi
  • Neeraj Tiwari
  • Bhavya Ishwar

These astronauts underwent rigorous physical, academic, technical, and flying training in Russia and India to make history in the field of space.

The mission is scheduled on 21 October 2023, it is a 3-day mission after which the astronauts will be returned back to the earth. 

Also Read: Which Rocket Was Used for Chandrayaan-3?

Related Searches:


How many astronauts does Gaganyaan have?

The Gaganyaan will be launched with 3 astronauts into space and bring them back safely to on earth the Indian seas.

Who will lauch Gaganyaan?

Indian Space Research Organization will launch the first manned spacecraft on 21 October at 08:00 Hrs from Satish Dhawan Space Centre SHAR, Sriharikota.

How are astronauts selected?

Among a group of 60 Indian Airforce Pilots, 4 astronauts were selected for the Ganyaan mission.

For more such trending events, keep reading our important days blogs on Leverage Edu to stay informed about the news and important dates in the world of education!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *