The OBC Category: Central List, Benefits

4 minute read
OBC Category

In India, the OBC Category (Other Backward Classes) are socially and educationally disadvantaged. In contrast to Scheduled Classes (SC) or Scheduled Tribes (ST), OBCs are a separate category. There is a list maintained by the Central Government of India that identifies the castes and communities considered OBCs. It is one of several official Indian population classifications, along with general castes, scheduled castes, and scheduled tribes (SCs and STs).

Hence, this blog focuses on highlighting who comes under the OBC category and their benefit entitlements.

Also Read: OBC Scholarships

What is the OBC Category?

There is no definition of the OBC Category in the Constitution. In April 1993, the Government enacted the National Commission for Backward Classes (NCBC) Act in response to the Supreme Court’s decision in Indira Sawhney’s case. “Backward classes,” according to Section 2 of the NCBC Act, refer to those backward classes of citizens not belonging to the Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes.

Central List of OBCs: State-wise

The Central government of India has issued a complete list of communities belonging to the OBC category. The list of OBCs can be accessed through the official link given below for a better understanding.

Particular Relevant Link
State-wise Central List of OBCs Click Here

Benefits of Being Included in the OBC Category

Both the Central Government and State Governments are conducting numerous programmes and plans to elevate the OBCs (Other Backward Classes). Several advantages offered to the OBC category include:

  • Regarding seats in government posts (such as IAS, IPS, etc.) and government institutions, there is a 27% reservation quota (like the IIMs and IITs).
  • There is a modification of the maximum age requirement for a number of exams, including the UPSC Civil Services Exam.
  • There are fewer restrictions on how many times you can take a test.
  • Regarding cut-off marks, there is a relaxation

Difference Between the Creamy and Non-Creamy Layers of the OBC Category

The list of Castes and Communities that are considered in the OBC category has been made public by the Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment.

The Indian government uses the collective phrase “Other Backward Classes” to categorise castes that have social and educational disadvantages. Along with Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes, it is one of the official classifications of India’s population (SCs and STs).

Creamy Layer  Non-Creamy Layer 
The Other Backward Classes’ members who are in the creamy layer are not eligible for reservation. The advantage of the reservation is available to Other Backward Classes members who are in the non-creamy layer.
Income: Above 8 Lakhs Income: Below 8 Lakhs
Family Income: Total family income exceeds the 8 LPA family income cap (Income from salaries or agricultural land shall not be clubbed) Family Income: Total family income is less than the 8 LPA (Income from salaries or agricultural land shall not be clubbed)
Competitive Exam Benefits: In the event of competitive exams, they are classified as a General category and are not eligible for any form of relaxation offered to OBCs.  Competitive Exam Benefits: They can avail advantages, such as age relaxation and exam attempt relaxation for competitive exams.
If a person is not requesting any form of reservation, no such document is needed to be filed by them.  Every person requesting OBC status must produce a certificate stating their “OBC non-creamy layer status” that was granted by one of the authorities listed in the DOPT Office Memorandum.

Also Read: Easiest Govt Exams to Crack

How Many Attempts for OBCs in UPSC?

The UPSC offers accommodations for the OBC category, in the IAS Exam. Additionally, the board places some restrictions on some groups of persons and offers some flexibility in others. The applicants for the exam should therefore make sure they meet all requirements for admission before submitting their applications.

UPSC Attempts for OBC – An Overview

The UPSC typically gives each candidate belonging to the OBC category or the PwBD category, who is taking the exam six chances to pass. For other kinds of candidates, the commission also offers some flexibility. As a result, depending on which group each candidate falls under, their total number of attempts is different from one another.

Candidate Category  Number of attempts
OBC Category (Other Backward Classes) 09
PwBD (Persons with Benchmark Disability) + OBC 09

The information in the table above about OBC candidates’ UPSC efforts was obtained from the UPSC’s official website, and it is clear that the number of attempts given for OBC applicants is greater than the attempts made by candidates in the general category.

Also Read: UPSC Exam


How many categories are there in the OBC caste?

The SC list now includes the following 17 OBC sub-castes: Kahar, Kashyap, Kevat, Mallah, Nishad, Kumhar, Prajapati, Dheevar, Bind, Bhar, Rajbhar, Dhimar, Batham, Turha, Godia, Manjhi, and Machhua.

Who comes under the OBC quota?

Income Requirement for Classifying OBCs as Non-Creamy Layer. The parent’s annual income must be less than Rs. 8 lakhs for the applicant to be considered an OBC non-creamy layer candidate. For the purposes of estimating annual income for creamy layer status, salaries and agricultural revenue are not to be taken into account.

What are OBC A and OBC B?

Based on the annual Income and Education, the OBC category is further broken into a number of categories. OBC A families earn between 5 and 8 lakhs per year. OBC B’s income ranges from 1 to 5 lakhs. OBC C has a family income of under 1 lakh.

Stay tuned to the Leverage Edu Website for more news about the National Recruitment Exams 2023, and don’t forget to join our social media pages on Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn and Twitter for more updates about the National Recruitment Exams.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *



10,000+ students realised their study abroad dream with us. Take the first step today.
Talk to an expert