Indian Postal Service Exam 2023: Eligibility Criteria, Result, and Other Details

4 minute read
Indian Postal Service Exam 2023

The Indian Postal Service exam is a part of India’s Group ‘A’ Civil Services. They are in charge of administering India Post, the world’s biggest postal network, which offers services that include standard postal services to finance as well as e-commerce. It additionally offers non-commercial services including the payment of old-age pensions & MGNREGA salaries. 

IPoS cadre officials are the highest-ranking officers in India’s postal service structure. The Ministry of Communications, Government of India, is the cadre governing authority for this service. In this blog, we will cover the Indian Postal Service, its exam pattern, and its selection process in detail.

Examination Name Civil Services Exam 
Exam LevelNational Level
Conducting AuthorityUnion Public Service Commission
Cadre Governing AuthorityMinistry of Communications, Government of India
PositionIndian Postal Service
Mode of ExamOffline Mode
Age limit21 to 32 years
Attempts Allowed6 attempts

Eligibility Criteria 

An overview of UPSC Eligibility requirements is provided below. To be qualified for the UPSC Exam, candidates must meet the following requirements:

  • Have to be an Indian citizen, an individual of Indian heritage, or an inhabitant of Nepal, Bhutan, or Tibet who lived in India before January 1, 1962.
  • A bachelor’s degree from a reputed university is also required.
  • The candidate must be at least 21 years old and no older than 32 years old. 

Indian Postal Service Exam Pattern 

The UPSC exam has two parts i.e. Prelims and Mains. Below we have mentioned the exam pattern of each part in detail. 


The Prelims questions only have the objective or MCQs. In the IAS Exam, you get a negative marking for each wrong answer. Negative markings for wrong responses will result in a deduction of 0.66 of the question’s allocated marks. The paper consists of General Studies and CSAT

The paper is of 80 marks in total and candidates get 2 hours to finish the paper. The GS Paper II  of the exam is of a qualifying nature, and candidates must score at least 33% in this paper to advance to the next level of the exam, the Mains. In Prelims, blind applicants are allowed an additional twenty minutes for each paper. For the assessment, applicants must sit in both papers of the civil services prelims test. Candidates’ preliminary examination scores are not considered in their final scores. It is simply a screening exam, and applicants who do not meet the cut-off are dismissed.

Must Read: Civil Service Exam


The UPSC Mains Exam, a written descriptive test consisting of 9 papers, is the following stage of the UPSC Exam. The following are the nine papers of the IAS Exam (Mains): Paper-A (Compulsory Indian Language) is of qualifying nature, Paper-B (English) such as Essay, General Studies Papers I, II, III, and IV, and Optional Papers I and II are evaluated for the final ranking. Paper A and Paper B are 300 marks whereas the other papers are 250 marks each. Candidates get 3 hours to finish each paper.  Candidates can write the UPSC Mains Exam in  English, Hindi, or any different language mentioned in the Indian Constitution’s 8th Schedule.

Interview Round

Candidates who pass the IAS Mains stage with the requisite cut-off marks go to the final of the IAS exam, which is the interview stage with UPSC Board Members. The Commission will send an e-summon to the candidates who advance to the final round for a one-on-one session with the board members. In this phase, the board examines the candidates’ personality qualities and asks questions about their interests, current events, general awareness, scenario questions, and so on to determine whether they are suitable for a job in public services. The UPSC personality exam will only be held in New Delhi at the UPSC Bhavan.


The Civil Services Exam result will be available on the UPSC website. Candidates will be able to get the UPSC result and names list pdf by following the instructions outlined below.

  • Go to the UPSC website at
  • Find and click on the UPSC  result 2023 link.
  • The UPSC result in PDF with the roll numbers and names of shortlisted applicants will be displayed on the screen.
  • Check for your name and roll number or name in the list by pressing Ctrl+F.
  • Download exam results for future use.

Must Read: UPSC CSE 2023 


Once selected qualified candidates are sent for training. Indian Postal Service training is divided into two stages, which are stated below:

First Stage: Foundation Course at the LBSNAA, SVPNA, and the National Academy of Direct Taxes based on Department of Personnel and Training recommendations.

Second phase: Professional training in postal management and administration at Rafi Ahmed Kidwai National Postal Academy.


When will the UPSC prelims test be held?

The UPSC CSE 2023 preliminary exam will be held on 28, May 2023.

Where to check UPSC IAS result?

Candidates may view their UPSC CSE results at the UPSC official website,

How many stages are there in the UPSC exam?

The UPSC exam selection procedure consists of three stages: prelims, mains, and personal Interviews.

We have covered the  Indian Postal Service exam in detail, we hope the candidates find this information useful. 

For more such updates stay tuned to our Indian exams page. and don’t forget to follow us on Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn, and Twitter.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *