browse success stories

Central South University

Changsha, China



International Student Rate

Central South University (CSU), officially known as: Zh?ngnán dàxué in Pinyin, was established in 2000 in Changsha, Hunan Province in Central South of China. Under Program 201, the Chinese government founded the Central South University by emerging three historical educational universities and institutes including Hunan Medical University (HMU), Changsha Railway University (CRU), and Central South University of Technology (CSUT). The predecessor of the university, Hunan Medical University was founded in 1914 by administration of the Ministry of Health, when Xiangya Medical College was founded through the joint efforts of Hunan Yuqun Society and the Yale-China Association. Central South University of Technology was established in 1952 and administered by the Ministry of Education. Formerly known as Central South Institute of Mining and Metallurgy in 1952 when a nationwide restructuring of institutes of higher education began. It incorporated departments of mining and metallurgy from six universities, including Sun Yat-sen University, Guangxi University, Wuhan University, Hunan University, Nanchang University and Beijing Institute of Technology. Today, Central South University has 31 schools and departments including Literature and Journalism; Foreign Languages; Architecture and Art; Business School, Chemistry and Chemical Engineering; Mechanical and Electrical Engineering; Energy Science and Engineering; Material Science and Engineering; Powder Metallurgy Research Institute; Law School; Marxism; Public Administration; Mathematics and Statistics Physics and Electronics; Traffic and Transportation Engineering; Civil Engineering; Metallurgy and Environment; Pharmaceutical Sciences; Public Health; Geoscience and; Environmental Engineering; Info-physics and Geomatics Engineering; Resources and Safety Engineering; Minerals Processing and Bioengineering; Information Science and Engineering; Xiang-ya School of Medicine; Basic Medical Sciences; Stomatology; School of Life Sciences; Research Department of Physical Education; School of Aeronautics and Astronautics and Aier School of Ophthalmology. Central South University offers 83 undergraduate programs, 282 postgraduate programs and 142 doctoral and post-doctoral programs in Philosophy, Economics, Law, Education, Literature, Science, Engineering, Medicine, Management and Art, and Military Science. Today, Central South University has six campuses situated in the wonderful and historic city of Changsha in Hunan, China. The campuses covers an area of 2,760,000 m2 on both side, east and west of Xiangjiang River. The campus offers the perfect academic atmosphere for research which is backed by the majestic Yuelu Mountain and facing the grand Xiangjiang River. There are approx. 55,000 students enrolled in Central South University with a presence of academic staff of about 14,000 members. The faculty-student ratio stands at 1:8. According to the QS and THE Ranking, Central South University is ranked #701-750 and #401-450 in 2019.
Read More

International Students %


Talk to an Expert for FREE

Whatsapp Icon
Leverage Edu Logo

A plan for every dream

Download the Study Abroad with Leverage Edu App

Google play store icon


Google Play

Apple app store icon

Download on the

App Store

Copyright Ⓒ 2024, Leverage Edu. All rights reserved.

Back to top button