Permanent Members of G20

2 minute read
Permanent Members of G20

G20 Summit 2023 was the 18th meeting that was recently held at Delhi in Bharat Mandapam International Exhibition-Convention Centre, Pragati Maidan. The summit recently concluded on Sunday. Out of all the permanent members, the African Union joined hands and became a permanent member of the G20. This marked the expansion of the bloc created in 1999 to cope with a series of financial crises. 

Who are the Permanent Members of G20?

Each year, the G20 or the Group of Twenty is held in one of the member nations. 

The permanent members of the G20 include Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, the Republic of Korea, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Turkey, the United Kingdom, the United States and the European Union. 

Every year, the presidency invites one country to become a permanent member of this group. This year, the PM of India announced that the African Union has joined hands to become a permanent member of the G20. 

The African Union will have the status as the other 27-member Europen Union (EU), with the only regional bloc that of the full membership of the G20. This move was in line with the Indian G20 presidency’s efforts to put the concerns and interests of the Global South at the centre of its agenda for the summit. 

One should also note that the work of the G20 nations has the support of several international organisations which will provide policy advice. 

Also Read: When is the G20 Summit 2025?


How many countries are there in G20?

In the G20, there are 20 countries, including one European Union. In recent news, the African Union has joined the group as a permanent member. 

What does G20 stand for and what is its role?

G20 stands for the Group of 20. It is a premier forum for international economic cooperation. This summit is held every year. It plays an important role in reshaping and strengthening global architecture.

Where is the headquarters of the G20?

There is no set headquarters or a permanent secretariat for the G20.

For more related articles, you can read about various Trending Events at Leverage Edu!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *