Full List Of Viceroys Of India

4 minute read

The list of Viceroys of India is a fascinating journey through the history of British colonial rule on the Indian subcontinent. Spanning over a century, each Viceroy left an indelible mark on the country, overseeing significant events and reforms that shaped India’s path towards independence. From Lord Canning, who abolished the doctrine of lapse, to Lord Mountbatten, the last Viceroy who witnessed India’s birth as a free nation, this list reflects the changing dynamics and challenges faced during this pivotal period in Indian history. Join us as we explore the lives and legacies of these Viceroys who played crucial roles in India’s transformation.

Must Read: Lord Canning: First Viceroy of India, Life, Works

Viceroys of British India (1858-1947) 

Below we have listed the Viceroys of British India from 1858 to 1947:

Lord Canning 1858-1862 He is known for his significant achievement in abolishing the doctrine of lapse, which had allowed the British East India Company to annex princely states without heirs. This marked a turning point in Indian policy, preserving the integrity of many princely states.
Lord Elgin 1862-1863 The Tenure saw the rise of the Wahabi Movement, a religious and political movement in India. This period witnessed religious and political unrest, challenging the British administration.
Lord Lawrence 1864-1869  Governed from 1864 to 1869,he is notable for establishing High Courts in Calcutta and Madras, contributing to the development of the Indian legal system. Additionally, his tenure saw the Anglo-Bhutanese war.
Lord Mayo 1869-1872 He introduced financial distribution between the central and state governments for the first time, and the inaugural census of 1872 was conducted under his administration. Tragically, Lord Mayo was the only Governor-General to be assassinated in India.
Lord Northbrook 1872-1876 The term was marked by progressive reforms, including the introduction of civil and Arya Samaj marriages and the Universal Marriage Act, which allowed inter-caste marriages. The Kuka Movement in Punjab also gained momentum during this period.
Lord Lytton 1876-1880 The term witnessed the controversial Vernacular Press Act and Arms Act of 1878, which curtailed press freedom and imposed restrictions on firearms possession. His administration faced criticism for its handling of a severe famine and the proclamation of Queen Victoria as “The Empress of India.”
Lord Ripon 1880-1884 He is remembered for repealing the Arms and Vernacular Press Acts. He promoted local self-governance by establishing Panchayats and Municipal Boards, earning the title “Father of Self-Government.” He also oversaw the founding of Punjab University and Allahabad University.
Lord Dufferin 1884-1888 The term saw the Third Anglo-Burmese War and the founding of the Indian National Congress in 1885, marking the beginning of the Indian political movement.
Lord Lansdowne 1888-1894  He introduced the Indian Councils Act of 1892, which introduced indirect elections. The Factory Act of 1891 was another significant legislative achievement during his tenure.
Lord Elgin  1894-1899 The tenure witnessed the first political murder of a British officer by the Chapekar Brothers. This period was marked by rising political tensions.
Lord Curzon 1899-1905 He implemented the Indian Universities Act to exert more control over Indian universities and controversially partitioned Bengal, sparking widespread protests.
Lord Minto II 1905-1910  The term from saw the Morley-Minto reforms and the transfer of the capital from Calcutta to Delhi. Madan Mohan Malaviya established the Hindu Mahasabha during this period.
Lord Hardinge II 1910-1916. He was involved in the Mesopotamian Campaign and witnessed the growth of the Home Rule League movements and the passing of the Rowlatt Act.
Lord Chelmsford 1916- 1921  His term saw the Montague-Chelmsford reforms, the Jallianwala Bagh massacre and the emergence of the Non-Cooperation Movement led by Mahatma Gandhi.
Lord Reading 1921-1926 His term witnessed the formation of the Swaraj Party and the Chauri-Chaura incident during his tenure.
Lord Irwin 1926-1931  The term saw the launch of the civil disobedience movement and the Dandi march led by Mahatma Gandhi, as well as the First Round Table Conference.
Lord Willingdon 1931-1936 He oversaw the Second and Third Round Table Conferences, the signing of the Poona Pact, and the introduction of communal awards.
Lord Linlithgow 1936- 1944  He faced the challenges of the Cripps Mission and the Quit India Movement, which marked significant steps towards India’s independence.
Lord Wavell 1944-1947  His tenure saw the CR Formula, the launch of Direct Action Day, and the Wavell Plan and Shimla Conference, all of which contributed to the final stages of the struggle for Indian independence.
Lord Mountbatten 1947-1948 He played a pivotal role in the June 3rd Plan and became the last Viceroy and the first Governor-General of free India, overseeing the transition to independence.

Significance Of Viceroys In Indian History

Victories in Indian history hold profound significance as they have shaped the nation’s destiny, culture, and identity. They symbolize resilience against foreign invasions, colonization, and oppression. Iconic battles like the Battle of Plassey and the Revolt of 1857 paved the way for independence from British rule in 1947. India’s victory in the 1971 Indo-Pak War led to the creation of Bangladesh. These triumphs showcase India’s commitment to sovereignty, unity, and justice. They serve as a reminder of the sacrifices made by countless heroes and continue to inspire future generations to defend freedom, democracy, and the rich heritage of this diverse and ancient civilization.

Stay informed on Indian History and more with our General Knowledge section. Contact Leverage Edu for study abroad inquiries.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *



25,000+ students realised their study abroad dream with us. Take the first step today.
Talk to an expert