Last Deputy Prime Minister of India: Lal Krishna Advani

2 minute read
Last Deputy Prime Minister of India- Lal Krishna Advani

The Last Deputy Prime Minister of India is Lal Krishna Advani. He was in the position for 1 year and 329 days from the 28th of June, 2002 till the 22nd of May, 2004 under Atal Bihari Vajpayee. There has been no deputy prime minister since the 22nd of May 2004. However, the position of the Deputy Prime Minister is not a Constitutional post. Although, it is the position of the second-highest-ranking minister of the Union. Additionally, in the absence of the Prime Minister, the Deputy takes over in their place. Since Independence, there have been 7 Deputies in total. Read on to know more about the Last Deputy Prime Minister of India and the 7 Deputy Prime Ministers. 

Who was Lal Krishna Advani?

Lal Krishna Advani was born on the 8th of November 8 1927 and is a prominent Indian politician known for his significant contributions to the BJP

  • Advani had an important role in the rise of the BJP, which emerged as a major force in Indian politics under his leadership. 
  • Throughout his political journey, Advani held different pivotal positions, including Deputy Prime Minister of India from 2002 to 2004 and Minister of Home Affairs from 1998 to 2004. 
  • Additionally, he was also a part of the NDA, a coalition of political parties.
  • Moreover, known for his oratory skills and strategic insight, Advani is seen as a stalwart of the BJP.
  • Advani’s leadership during crucial moments in Indian politics has garnered him both admiration and controversy. 

Also Read: What are the Powers of the Vice President of India?

7 Deputy Prime Ministers of India since Independence

Furthermore, here is a list of the 7 Deputy Prime Ministers of India since Independence: 

7 Deputy Prime Ministers of India
Deputy Prime MinisterPrime Minister
Vallabhbhai Jhaverbhai Patel Jawaharlal Nehru
Morarji Ranchhodji DesaiIndira Feroze Gandhi
Chaudhary Charan SinghMorarji Ranchhodji Desai
Jagjivan RamMorarji Ranchhodji Desai
Yashwantrao Balwantrao ChavanChaudhary Charan Singh
Chaudhary Devi LalVishwanath Pratap Singh
Chandra Shekhar
Lal Krishna AdvaniAtal Bihari Vajpayee
7 Deputy Prime Ministers of India

Related Blogs

Why Do We Need Two Houses of Parliament?What is Martial Law?
What is the Doctrine of Colourable Legislation?What is the Difference between Martial Law and National Emergency?
What is the Difference between Fundamental Rights and Directive Principles?What is the Difference Between Money Bill and Ordinary Bill?
What is the Difference between a Financial Bill and a Money Bill?What is the Difference Between Fundamental Rights and Fundamental Duties?

Lastly, we hope you liked our blog and gained an understanding of the Last Deputy Prime Minister of India. Moreover, you may even read more blogs and empower yourself with knowledge regarding Civics and Polity! 

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *