Shantiniketan World Heritage Site

2 minute read
Shantiniketan World Heritage Site

Located in West Bengal, Shantiniketan a prestigious institution and the embodiment of Rabindranath Tagore, is recently added to the UNESCO World Heritage Site. It was a proud moment for India that the institution reflecting the art and traditional culture of India will be now considered as one of the UNESCO World Heritage Sites. 

Shantiniketan was founded in 1901, by the Nobel Laureate Rabindranath Tagore. In the 45th Session of World Heritage Sites, held in Saudi Arabia, UNESCO included it in the list of World Heritage Sites.

Also Read: World Heritage Day

Shantiniketan: The World Heritage Site UNESCO

With the inclusion of Shantiniketan in the World Heritage Site, it has become the 41st World Heritage Site in India and 3rd Heritage Site in West Bengal.

This place is the perfect reflection of Indian traditions and culture and it also reflects the vision and life of Rabindranath Tagore. It also represents the importance and significance of art education.

Hon’ble Prime Minister of India Narendra Modi conveyed his happiness and pride on his social channel. 

The Hon’ble Chief Minister of West Bengal also celebrated the moment and expressed her happiness.

Also Read: Archaeologist 

Also Read: Indian Independence Struggle


Q1. What is the Heritage of Shantiniketan?

A. Shantiniketan, located about 158 km northwest of Kolkata in the rural area was founded by Rabindranath Tagore in 1901. It represents the Indian culture and tradition and is the reflection of Tagore’s life and vision. This place preserves the exceptional art of Rabindranath Tagore and would now serve as a UNESCO World Heritage Site. 

Q2. How many UNESCO Heritage Sites are there in West Bengal?

A. There are three UNESCO Heritage Sites in West Bengal. They are listed below:
Darjeeling Himalayan Railway, West Bengal
Sunderbans National Park, West Bengal
Shantiniketan, West Bengal

Q3. Which is India’s first World Heritage Site?

A. Sites that were inscribed in the 1983 session of the World Heritage Committee i.e. Ajanta Caves, Ellora Caves, Taj Mahala, and Agra Fort are considered India’s first World Heritage Sites.

Hope you get some details on Shantiniketan World Heritage Site. For more such information on trending events follow Leverage edu.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *