21 Interesting Facts About Indian Flag for Kids

3 minute read
Interesting FACTS ABOUT Indian flag

The Indian flag, also known as the Tiranga, is a symbol of great pride. It inspires the feeling of national pride in citizens and represents India at the global level. However, the Tiranga was not always like this. In other words, the evolution of the Indian flag is a truly wonderful tale to think about. Did you know that each colour of the National Flag of India signifies different meanings? Here are some interesting facts about the National Flag of India to teach your students about the Indian Flag.

Amazing Fun Facts About Indian Flag

1. The Indian Flag is known as the Tiranga or Tricolor. 

2. The National Flag of India was adopted during the Constituent Assembly on 22 July 1947. 

3. It served as the national flag of the Dominion of India between 15 August 1947 and 26 January 1950.

4. The first outdoor official flag hoisting of India’s Tiranga took place in Canberra, Australia on 15 August 1947. It happened at the residence of Sir Raghunath Paranype, the High Commission of India in Australia, at 1200 hrs local time. 

5. Post-independence, Tiraneg unfurled for the first time at Red Fort on 16 August 1947 at 8:30 A.M. 

6. The National Flag of India has saffron colour at the top, white in the middle, and dark green at the bottom in horizontal lines. 

7. The navy blue wheel in the centre of the white horizontal represents the chakra, inspired by the wheel which appears on the abacus of the Sarnath Lion Capital of Ashoka. 

8. The saffron colour represents strength, the white represents peace and truth with Dharma Chakra, and the green colour represents 

9. The ratio of the width of the flag to its length is two to three.

10. The Dharma Chakra or the Wheel of Law contains 24 spikes. 

11. The Chakra denotes the progress of the country. 

12. The first Flag of India came out in 1904 by Sister Nivedita, an Irish disciple of Swami Vivekananda. 

13. The first flag had red and yellow colours, wherein the former signified freedom struggle and the latter represented victory. 

14. The next flag came out in 1906 with blue at the top, yellow in the middle, and red stripes at the bottom.

15. In 1921, Pingali Venkaya designed another flag with white, red, and green colours and a Charkha or a spinning wheel in the centre. 

16. The Flag Code of India, 2002 is divided into three parts.

17. The National Flag can be hoisted in educational institutions and sports camps to motivate and inspire the feeling of nationalism and patriotism.

18. One cannot use the National flag of India for communal gains, drapery, or clothes. 

19. The Flag Code of India states that the National Flag of India should be rectangular in shape. 

20. On 15 January 2022, the Indian Army unfurled the world’s largest Tirange at Jaisalmer on the occasion of Army Day. 

21. India celebrates National Flag Day every year on July 22 to commemorate the adoption of the tricolour designed by Pingali Venkayya. 

Hope you had fun reading these interesting facts about the Indian Flag. If you like reading about facts, you can visit our interesting facts page to read more such blogs.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *