How many Spokes are there in Ashoka Chakra?

2 minute read
How many Spokes in Ashoka Chakra

There are 24 Spokes in the Ashoka Chakra. They are found at the exact centre of the Indian National Flag. The symbol of the Ashoka Chakra is taken from the Lion Capital of Ashoka. Furthermore, the 24 spokes are an intentional and historical design choice rich with symbolism and representing India’s core values. Additionally, there has been an evolution of the Indian Flag after which the current national flag was adopted on the 22nd of July 1947. 

Why the Ashoka Chakra has 24 Spokes?

There are many interpretations of the 24 Spokes of the Ashoka Chakra.

  • One such interpretation is that it represents the Buddhist doctrine of Pratītyasamutpāda.
  • Moreover, the wheel with 24 spokes shows the steps taught by Buddha about why things happen and how they connect.
  • Additionally, it goes through these steps first one way, then the other representing the Dharmachakra, the Wheel of Dharma.
  • Thus, the first 12 steps show how suffering starts and grows and the next 12 steps in reverse show that when there’s no cause, there’s no effect.

Another interpretation perceives the 24 spokes as defining fundamental human qualities.

  • Each spoke is assumed to signify a virtue such as righteousness, courage, knowledge, and peace.
  • Therefore, by including these 24 spokes, the Ashoka Chakra is a reminder to strive for these virtues and live an ethical life.

In addition, some also believe that it symbolises the 24 hours of the day. Moreover, a nation needs to be in constant motion to promote growth and development. 

What is the meaning of 24 spokes in Ashoka Chakra?

Here is the meaning of each Spoke of the Ashoka Chakra:

Meaning of the 24 Spokes in Ahoka Chakra
Spoke Meaning 
1st Spoke Hope
2nd SpokeLove
3rd SpokeCourage
4th SpokePatience 
5th SpokePeacefulness 
6th Spoke Kindness 
7th SpokeGoodness
8th SpokeFaithfulness 
9th SpokeGentleness
10th Spoke Self Control
11th Spoke Selflessness
12th Spoke Self Sacrifice 
13th SpokeTruthfulness
14th SpokeRighteousness
15th SpokeJustice 
16th SpokeMercy
17th SpokeGraciousness 
18th SpokeHumility 
19th SpokeEmpathy
20th SpokeSympathy
21st SpokeSupreme Knowledge
22nd SpokeSupreme Wisdom
23rd SpokeSupreme Morality 
24th SpokeAltruism
Meaning of the 24 Spokes in Ahoka Chakra

Thus, the meaning of the 24 spokes in the Ashoka Chakra remains open to interpretation, but their significance is undeniable. They represent movement, progress, and the eternal cycle of life. The spokes also stand for the dynamism and continuous efforts needed for a nation’s progress.

Related Blogs

What is Adjournment Motion?What is Fiscal Federalism?
What is the Doctrine of Colourable Legislation?What is a Writ of Prohibition?
What is the Difference between Fundamental Rights and Directive Principles?What is the Difference between Fundamental Duties and Directive Principles?
What is Universal Adult Franchise?What is the Difference Between Fundamental Rights and Fundamental Duties?

Lastly, we hope you liked our blog and gained an understanding of How many Spokes in Ashoka Chakra. Moreover, you may even read more blogs and empower yourself with knowledge regarding Civics and Polity!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *