What is the Full Form of NTA?

4 minute read
NTA Full Form

The Full Form of NTA is the National Testing Agency. It was established in 2017 by the GOI and it acts as the central body for conducting numerous entrance examinations. These are done for admission and fellowship in higher educational institutions across India. Furthermore, it is backed by the Union Council of Ministers. Moreover, this autonomous agency aims to simplify the testing process, guaranteeing fairness, transparency, and efficiency. Read this blog to learn more about NTA Full Form, its features, and more.

Also Read: What is the Full Form of DTS?

What are the Features of NTA?

There are many roles and responsibilities that are undertaken by NTA, some of the Features are as follows:

  • They have to take care of practice tests for all the exams.
  • Entrance to these practice test exams is only open to those who have earlier registered for the test.
  • Moreover, when it comes to the participation of disabled students in exams.
  • Putting money into cutting-edge technology to increase test administration efficiency.

Also Read: What is the Full Form of BOM?

NTA Application Process

Additionally, the application for NTA is as follows:

  • Fill out the application form.
  • Obtaining a copy of the admit card.
  • Taking the exam in person.

Also Read: What is the Full Form of GPS?

NTA Eligibility Criteria

NTA conducts various exams, and each exam has different eligibility criteria. The table below shows the eligibility criteria for various exams:

Name of ExamEligibility
JEE Mains Students of any age can apply.

Paper 1 of JEE Main needs candidates to have taken at least 5 courses in class 12th qualifying examinations, which includes language, physics, maths, and any one of the following (Chemistry; Biology; Biotechnology; Technical Vocational Subject):
IIT NEET Students who are 17 years of age or older can only apply.

The number of attempts is limited to 3.
DU JATApplicants must have completed their Class 12 from a recognised board in India, such as ISC, CBSE.

Students who have appeared for their final Class 12 exams and are awaiting results are also eligible to apply for DU JAT.

The minimum percentage requirement for Class 12 exams varies based on the candidate’s category:
General Category: 60% aggregate marks
SC/ST/CW/PwD Category: 55% aggregate marks
OBC (Non-Creamy) Category: 54% aggregate marks

The aggregate score for DU JAT eligibility will be based on the marks obtained in English, Mathematics, and two other elective subjects offered by Delhi University.
DUETCandidates for DUET’s BTech program must have a CGPA of at least 60%.

Students must receive at least 60% in four of their 12th-grade subjects to be eligible for a degree in the humanities or social sciences.
GPATStudents must be citizens of India.
CMATAn applicant for CMAT 2022 must have earned a bachelor’s degree, or its equivalent, in any subject from an accredited university.

In addition, students in their final year of high school (10+2+3) may apply for the CMAT provided their results are made public before the start of the admissions period.
UGC NETTo apply for the UGC NET program, candidates must score at least 55% on their Master’s degree exams (in subjects like the humanities, social sciences, electronics, computer science, and applications, etc.) from a college or university that has received UGC recognition.

Popular Full Forms

UNIDO Full FormLAMPS Full FormUNI Full FormWHO Full Form
ITU Full FormMPHW Full FormANM Full FormIADF Full Form
STC Full FormCMA Full FormMTC Full FormIPD Full Form
CCL Full FormSEO Full FormEDC Full FormNRC Full Form
ARP Full FormCOE Full FormIMRB Full FormOPD Full Form


What is NTA and what does it do?

The National Testing Agency (NTA) is an autonomous organization established by the Indian government. It was made to conduct various entrance examinations for admission and fellowship in higher educational institutions across India. It aims to ensure fairness, transparency, and efficiency in the testing process.

What are the eligibility criteria for exams conducted by NTA?

Eligibility criteria vary for each exam conducted by NTA. For example, for exams like JEE Main, students of any age can apply. On the other hand, while for NEET, students must be at least 17 years old. Other exams, like DU JAT and DUET, have specific requirements related to educational qualifications and subject scores.

What is the application process for NTA exams?

The application process usually involves filling out an application form. Thereafter obtaining an admit card and appearing for the exam in person. Additionally, for certain exams, like JEE Main and NEET, there may be specific eligibility verification processes and document submissions.

We hope this blog has helped you understand the NTA Full Form and everything related to it. If you want to know more, find the full forms list on our blog. In the world of short forms, you can rely on the Leverage edu page to know about more full forms like this! Connect with us study abroad experts to achieve your international dream today!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *