NATA Exam Pattern

4 minute read
NATA Exam Pattern

National Aptitude Test in Architecture (NATA), which is conducted by the Council of Architecture (COA) is a separate test designed for those who want to pursue an undergraduate course in the field of Architecture. This All India level exam identifies the prospective candidates who are seeking admission in the 5-year undergraduate architecture course, that is, Bachelor of Architecture (B.Arch) throughout the country. Facilitating both the candidates and institutions at large, NATA is a single aptitude testing system that is accepted by some of the best Architecture colleges in India. Conducted twice a year, NATA assesses the drawing and observation skills, aesthetic sensitivity, sense of proportion, mathematical and problem-solving skills and critical thinking ability of the candidates related to the broad field of Architecture. But to ace the test, it is important to understand the exam structure and syllabus. Thus, through this blog, we will provide you with an insight into the NATA exam pattern and the marking scheme.

Eligibility Criteria

Before going through the NATA exam pattern, it is important to understand the eligibility criteria that a candidate has to meet in order to be able to sit for the test for pursuing Architecture courses. Listed below are the major prerequisites that one needs to satisfy: 

  • The candidate must have passed the 10+2 level senior secondary education with the aggregate of at least 50% in the MPC subjects (Mathematics, Physics, and Chemistry) or an aggregate of at least 50% in the overall 10+2 level board examination. 


  • The applicants must have passed the 10+3 level of diploma education with a minimum aggregate of 50%, with mathematics as a compulsory subject.

Also Read: Diploma in Architecture

NATA Exam Pattern

Competent architects are the ones who can contribute to strengthening the future of the nation and achieve the government’s mission of building Smart Cities. For this, future architects not only need to have a good grasp of concepts related to the field but also need to work on soft skill development so as to possess the necessary career skills. These are also the major aspects on which the candidates who want to pursue BA Arch are tested through the National Aptitude Test in Architecture. With NATA syllabus bifurcated into two parts, here is a detailed explanation of the NATA exam pattern and the marking scheme followed: 

[optin-monster-shortcode id=”xf2mlnjiouddzrshykdb”]

Part A

  • The first part of the NATA exam pattern consists of a total of 60 questions, each carrying 2 marks. 
  • Comprising of multiple-choice questions from Mathematics and General Aptitude, this is an online test that has to be completed in a maximum of 1 hour.
  • While 20 questions are asked in Mathematics, General Aptitude consists of 40 questions. Thus, the maximum marks awarded are 120. 
  • Each question will have 4 options out of which one would be the correct answer. For every correct answer, the candidate will be rewarded 2 marks. There will be no negative marking for any incorrect answer. 

Also Read: Masters in Architecture in Canada

Part B

  • After completing Part A, the candidates have to proceed with Part B where the drawing aptitude of the applicants will be assessed.
  • This is an offline, pen and paper-based section of the NATA exam pattern which consists of just 2 questions and each carries a weightage of 40 marks. 
  • The time limit for finishing the part B of the exam is 2 hours and the maximum marks allotted to this part is 80 marks.
  • While attempting the Part B, the candidates will be judged on some aspects like: 
1. Sense of perspective drawing
2. Understanding of Scales and Proportion
3. Creating interesting two-dimensional compositions through the given shapes
4. Combining and incorporating the given three-dimensional elements to make structures or buildings
5. Ability to sketch proportionately and rendering it in an appealing manner
6. Drawing effects of light on the object and shadows so formed in the surroundings, etc.

NATA Exam Pattern: Marking Scheme

The table below further shows the distribution of marks in both Part A and Part B under the NATA exam pattern: 

Parts Subjects Distribution of Marks
(No. of questions x marks)
Maximum Marks
Part A 1. Mathematics

2. General Aptitude

20 x 2

40 x 2



Part B Drawing 2 x 40 80
Total 200

Note: It is advised to stay updated with the NATA exam pattern and syllabus from the official website on a regular basis. 

Thus, the NATA exam pattern is designed to assess the students on various fronts. Needless to say, it takes a great deal of dedication and hard work to crack such types of competitive exams that act as a gateway for the candidate to take a step towards a bright future. Although persuing BArch through NATA is a suitable option but if you want to explore Architecture courses abroad then the experts at Leverage Edu, through our AI-based tool, will help you choose the best universities and suitable courses which match your professional goals. Best of Luck!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *



15,000+ students realised their study abroad dream with us. Take the first step today.
Talk to an expert